3DS Microphones?

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by o2oxygen, Feb 5, 2011.

Feb 5, 2011

3DS Microphones? by o2oxygen at 11:54 AM (1,773 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. o2oxygen
    OP

    Member o2oxygen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    Philippines
    Watching this video



    they did not tell about the microphones. but on 3:15 there is a small hole below the start button could that be the mic?
     
  2. chris888222

    Member chris888222 GBAtemp's Flygon Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,532
    Country:
    Singapore
    Hidden mic? LOL [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  3. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,459
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    Code:
    [youtube]5cF9JlJM-YA[/youtube]
     
  4. _Chaz_

    Member _Chaz_ GBAtemp's Official Mook™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,624
    Country:
    United States
    Fixed.

    And yes, most likely.
     
  5. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,459
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
  6. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    If it's backwards compatible with the DS, it's only logical for it to have a Mic.
     
  7. chris888222

    Member chris888222 GBAtemp's Flygon Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,532
    Country:
    Singapore
    The 3DS has connectivity of 2.4GHz? Which is the place I saw which only stated 220MHz? [​IMG]
     
  8. fishykipper

    Member fishykipper pkmn breeder

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    of course it has a microphone. its backwards compatible with all ds titles. many of which use the microphone.

    i'll be pissed if mario party ds doesn't work!!!
     
  9. o2oxygen
    OP

    Member o2oxygen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    Philippines
    lol i thought they took it of so i was wondering how to play cooking mama if you have to blow the heat out of the food xD
     
  10. fishykipper

    Member fishykipper pkmn breeder

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lol, and the zelda games! the biggest franchise nintendo has?
     
  11. DryYoshi

    Member DryYoshi Love child of Dry Bones and Yoshi

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    654
    Location:
    Yoshi's Island
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I'll buy those at some point because the mic in my DS Lite is broken.
    Also, Mario&Luigi Bowser's Inside Story
     
  12. o2oxygen
    OP

    Member o2oxygen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    Philippines
    ill just add on it...

    Since the 3D image is only displayed at the upper part of the 3DS... then that means that we wont be playing games from the touch screen? like for example. Golden Sun Dark Dawn?
     
  13. Nollog

    Member Nollog GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,691
    Country:
    Ireland
    You could be confusing cpu or gpu clock speed with wireless transmission frequency.
    On that point in the spec though, I'm really sad they don't have a wireless N card in there.

    Also, the codename looks like it'll be WAP. The plug is WAP-002.
     
  14. Ikki

    Member Ikki GBATemp's grumpy panda.

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,797
    Location:
    Montevideo
    Country:
    Uruguay
    Yup, embedded microphone...UNLIKE TC'S VIDEO ahahahahahaskldjahsldsjahdljakhdajh

    *Coughs*

    I couldn't imagine the 3DS without a mic anyway.
     
  15. KingVamp

    Member KingVamp Great... AETHER!

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9,608
    Country:
    United States
    Other then BC why take away the mic anyway?
     
  16. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well they rarely used the mic in the first place, more of a gimmick... bit of a shame really could've gone to much better use.
     
  17. pachura

    Member pachura GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    566
    Country:
    It was a gimmick because of its poor quality.

    Today, it could potentially be used for in-game voice chat, Skype, input for the Nintendo 3DS Sound application etc.

    But most probably it is exactly the same shitty microphone as in DS and its main use will be to blow the dust off some ancient book in a point & click adventure game...
     
  18. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lol agreed but they did use in-game voice chat with pokemon platinum over wi-fi which was quite cool.
     
  19. geenlung

    geenlung Newbie

    It was decent for Nintendogs and mini-games in Mario Party DS. But improved quality is definitely a want.
     

Share This Page