3DS doesn't recognize SD card

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by JPdensetsu, Jul 27, 2012.

Jul 27, 2012
  1. JPdensetsu
    OP

    Member JPdensetsu GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Taipei
    Country:
    Taiwan
    Every time I start up my Nintendo 3DS I get an error and it says that the SD card could not be read properly. I've tried to insert 3 different types of SD cards and no-one works whereas my Macbook recognize them. I can't reach the Nintendo e-Shop and download demo because of that error.

    Does anyone have a solution for this problem? I've already searched on the Internet but I haven't found a proper solution yet.
     
  2. CrimzonEyed

    Member CrimzonEyed GBAtemp's Assassin

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,486
    Location:
    The Shadows
    Country:
    Japan
    According to the manual, you are not supposed to insert or remove the SD card while the power is on. If you still have an issue after inserting the SD card with the power off, then you should call Nintendo.
    They may recommend you to send it in for repair.
     
  3. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    While that may indeed be true, a fully functional 3DS should have no problems accessing a newly inserted SD card even if it was on when said SD card was inserted. The reason the manual says you're not supposed to remove an SD card while it's running is to prevent possible data corruption issues that could stem from removing it while data is being written to the card.
     
  4. JPdensetsu
    OP

    Member JPdensetsu GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Taipei
    Country:
    Taiwan
    Here are some photo's

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  5. narutopet112

    Member narutopet112 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I had this problem too. But had fixed it with panasonic formatter on pc. Try it out http://panasonic.jp/support/global/cs/sd/download/index.html
     
  6. CrimzonEyed

    Member CrimzonEyed GBAtemp's Assassin

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,486
    Location:
    The Shadows
    Country:
    Japan
    Try what above said.

    Panasonic SD formatter often solves a lot of sd card problem =)

    EDIT: Awhhh I love the filetrip auto link =)
     
  7. narutopet112

    Member narutopet112 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i had forgotten about the auto link :ha: .thanks for reminding me :lol:
     
  8. JPdensetsu
    OP

    Member JPdensetsu GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Taipei
    Country:
    Taiwan
    I tried it out with 2 different SD cards and no-one worked. What should I do? I can't send it to Nintendo because it's an imported one.
     
  9. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    Imported or not, you could always contact Nintendo to see if there's something they could do to help. The worst answer you can get is a no.
     
  10. narutopet112

    Member narutopet112 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Country:
    Netherlands
    then its broken i think :unsure:


     
  11. JPdensetsu
    OP

    Member JPdensetsu GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Taipei
    Country:
    Taiwan
    The SD cards are readable on my Wii, Macbook, other notebook. So I do guess it's the system itself.
    I have also formatted the Nintendo 3DS a couple of times but no luck. Not that it's such a big problem, but I can't download any demos from the Nintendo e-shop or even get access to them.
     
  12. CrimzonEyed

    Member CrimzonEyed GBAtemp's Assassin

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,486
    Location:
    The Shadows
    Country:
    Japan
    Best to do in your case is to contact nintendo.
     
  13. narutopet112

    Member narutopet112 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Country:
    Netherlands
    try putting the sd card in the 3ds then out several times
     
  14. JPdensetsu
    OP

    Member JPdensetsu GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Taipei
    Country:
    Taiwan
    I have sent Nintendo of Europe an e-mail. So I hope they want to repair it.
     
  15. narutopet112

    Member narutopet112 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Country:
    Netherlands
    try putting the sd card in the 3ds then out several times until it works :yay:
     
  16. Skelletonike

    Member Skelletonike ♂ ♥ Gallant Pervert ♥ ♀

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,844
    Location:
    Steam City
    Country:
    Portugal
    What about the original SD card that came with the 3DS?
    Also, since the 3DS supports SDHC it might have problems with reading speeds for slower cards, like class 2 ones.
     
  17. xwatchmanx

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    The stock SD card that comes with the 3DS is a 2gb SD card, not an SDHC card. So I don't think that would be a problem.
     
  18. Skelletonike

    Member Skelletonike ♂ ♥ Gallant Pervert ♥ ♀

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,844
    Location:
    Steam City
    Country:
    Portugal
    Yeah, but there's some 4+ cards that aren't SDHC, and those don't always work with certain cameras, same could apply for the 3DS.
     
  19. Jiehfeng

    Member Jiehfeng The Moon over the Sun

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    3,882
    Location:
    now here
    Country:
    United States
    USE ONLY ONE SD CARD!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    And as narutopet112 said, try putting the sd card in the 3ds then out several times until it works
     

Share This Page