3DMark Vantage

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Madridi, Feb 23, 2010.

Feb 23, 2010

3DMark Vantage by Madridi at 11:34 AM (2,172 Views / 0 Likes) 28 replies

  1. Madridi
    OP

    Member Madridi Card Collector

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,424
    Location:
    Doha
    Country:
    Qatar
    Hi,

    So I ran 3DMark Vantage on my new system.
    i7 920 overclocked to 3.2GHz, and XFX 5770 GPU

    So, I got the score in the attachement. The problem is I dont know whats good and whats bad.

    So I guess my question is, is this good?
     

    Attached Files:



  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
  3. Cermage

    Member Cermage GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,702
    Country:
    Australia
    Those guys have probably pumped their i7's to 4.0ghz and clocked their 5770's. from what i understand, 5770's actually o/c quite well. i see quite a few people asking for programs that clock further than ati overdrive.
     
  4. Athlon-pv

    Member Athlon-pv GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    621
    Country:
    United States
    What seems is that your graphics card is not that fast the cpu score is on par with the 920.

    Check what drivers you have for your card. If you do a driver install make sure you remove the drivers from the control panel option. before installing new drivers.

    Btw 3dmartk vantage can give pretty weird scores in some cases. Some people stick a Nvidia card in their system just to ramp up their score for this benchmark (next to the ATI card).
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    When doing the search I specified only i7's from 2.8 to 3.2ghz (as you can see in the link)... but I didn't think to limit the video card, good point.
     
  6. Athlon-pv

    Member Athlon-pv GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    621
    Country:
    United States
    An overclock that gets you from 9460 to 15815 would be neat , post link please [​IMG] .
     
  7. Madridi
    OP

    Member Madridi Card Collector

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,424
    Location:
    Doha
    Country:
    Qatar
    Thanks for the reply guys,
    errr.. but what does that mean? any settings I can adjust on my end? is it defective in any way?

    Currently I see this in catalyst control center, all settings are auto (attachment)

    Posts merged

    @Athlon-pv: I have the latest drivers installed .. Catalyst 10.2
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Cermage

    Member Cermage GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,702
    Country:
    Australia
    From a 3.2 i7 to 4.0 i7? i've seen quite a few people break the 1ghz core on a 5770 as well.
     
  9. Athlon-pv

    Member Athlon-pv GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    621
    Country:
    United States
    Since you are in s creen shot posting mood , download gpu-Z from techpowerup.com and check if there is anything weird regarding your mainboard/pci-e settings used.

    Did you by any change have had a Nvidia card in your system before you got the 5770 ?



    Posts merged

    Were talking graphics here [​IMG] maybe it is a bit early for you [​IMG]
     
  10. Cermage

    Member Cermage GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,702
    Country:
    Australia
    ah didn't see the individual scores on rydian's link.

    its possible ati's powerplay is on, goes into 2d mode and lowers core and mem clocks of your card to save power. try a reboot and running it again. happens to me from time to time when i switch games.
     
  11. Madridi
    OP

    Member Madridi Card Collector

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,424
    Location:
    Doha
    Country:
    Qatar
    @Athlon-pv: No I never had nvidia, its a new system, I had catalyst 10.1 installed, uninstalled it and installed 10.2

    I dont know what would constitute as "weird", but in any case.. its in the attachement

    Thanks again

    Posts merged

    @.Radiant: just rebooted, I'll try it again now
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Madridi
    OP

    Member Madridi Card Collector

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,424
    Location:
    Doha
    Country:
    Qatar
    Heh, I ran it again and the scores are a little bit lower (not much, just double digit lower)
     
  13. Athlon-pv

    Member Athlon-pv GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    621
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe change some settings in catalyst control center, make everything run on performance and disable catalyst AI. If there is a powersaving mode disable it.

    And check some reviews of your card. If you have nearly identical scores on certain games which are gfx based that would be a good indication that everything is fine it is just 3dmarks vantage that is wrong.

    If that is the case and you really really need to have huge 3dmark vantage score you can allways format and reinstall and try again [​IMG] .
     
  14. Cermage

    Member Cermage GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,702
    Country:
    Australia
    Just had a quick look around. Those scores seem averge or a single 5770. Those guys probably have a pair in crossfire
     
  15. Madridi
    OP

    Member Madridi Card Collector

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,424
    Location:
    Doha
    Country:
    Qatar
    I just tried to adjust some settings and I got bsod lol..

    I think I'll just keep it as it is, I'm planning on getting a fermi anyways this card is just temporary.
    I checked a few reviews and I *think* the average is around 95xx for GPU, so I guess I'm where I'm supposed to be..
     
  16. Athlon-pv

    Member Athlon-pv GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    621
    Country:
    United States
  17. Cermage

    Member Cermage GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,702
    Country:
    Australia
    wouldn't trust old charlie there that much. he's claimed quite a few things about nvidia only to be proven wrong later on.
     
  18. Athlon-pv

    Member Athlon-pv GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    621
    Country:
    United States
    Well if the Nvidia card is faster how many benchmarks would have been leaked meanwhile , Nvidia tends to boast a lot.
     
  19. Madridi
    OP

    Member Madridi Card Collector

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,424
    Location:
    Doha
    Country:
    Qatar
    well to be honest all i've got for fermi is pure "expectations" .. I tend to favor nvidia over ati (mainly because of the so called bad driver support)..

    but yeah nvidia tends to boast alot as well.. so I donno..

    I was aiming for a 5970, but hesitated at the last second and decided to hold off..

    Eh well anyways this card will do for a while, I'm running Furmark on it know to heat it up, 40 minutes with 85c stable and gpu fan running automatically at 53% .. not bad I think
     
  20. Athlon-pv

    Member Athlon-pv GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    621
    Country:
    United States
    If you truly want to be amazed checkout guru3d.com on the forums there is a post of someone that quad SLI the 5770 with amazing results [​IMG] .
     

Share This Page