2 DS Lites both with non functioning top screens

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Cuber, Mar 18, 2009.

Mar 18, 2009
  1. Cuber
    OP

    Member Cuber GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So today, I finally got my triwing screw driver through so it was time to swap my DS lite's body with one I bought online... because the hinge on my old body snapped.

    So I suppose it went well, until the stop screen was just a real pain for me (The sticky bit.. wanting to make sure no dust got in... ect..) So were the shoulder buttons (Man I hate springs.) [​IMG]

    Anyway... after I finally got it all in, time to turn it on.. and.. the bottom screen flashes.. it turns off.. Looked on google to see anything about it online, seems it's a top screen issue.. so I try resetting the cable.. same thing..

    So I do something I wish I never did and got my sisters DS and tried out her top screen just to be sure.. er, same thing? I didn't take hers as far apart as my own, I just took it far enough to be able to see if it comes on.. I put it back in hers and got the same thing I was getting on mine.

    After mass panic I calmed down and tried again.. it turned on! So I did it all up.. and found, the top screens blank? Oh crap...
    I then did mine up and.. the top screens, well it has a few funny colours but slowly goes more grey..
    They both have sound... So, I'm probably going to take it to a professional now.. But please, if anyone has any ideas.. [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    If I have to replace the screens, I'd first love to know what I might of done to cause this twice so that I don't do it a 3rd or 4th time.

    Edit: The bottom screens got issues on the blue one now. >:/
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mk3OQMCjMuM If I press on the top left corner I get this.
     
  2. pikachuchuz

    Banned pikachuchuz Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry I'm not pro at this, though I'm going to case mod my DS in a week or so.
    Buy a top screen replacement from DealExtreme, they're only like $5
     
  3. Cuber
    OP

    Member Cuber GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's tempting to just buy 2 new top screens, but after this and it seemingly being so simple to mess it up as proved with my sisters, I'm scared doing that will just end up with the same thing.

    Also, it's $5, but how much would their shipping to the UK be? [​IMG]

    Edit: Okay it's $10 http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.3161
    o.o; I'd also need to solder. There's the problem.. x_X; No soldering iron ... This is all proving to be expensive now... -.-; I just wanted a cheaper way to sort my DS's body out..
     
  4. Cuber
    OP

    Member Cuber GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. ball2012003

    ball2012003 Newbie

    roundhouse kick the screens or throw the ds at the wall (not too hard)
    im serious about throwing it at the wall
    i threw my ds at the wall and it fixed my l and r buttons and my buttons havent got messed up since that day
    true story
     
  6. Cuber
    OP

    Member Cuber GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    xP

    But I'd prefer a less risky method.
     
  7. peregy

    Newcomer peregy Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Yugoslavia
    are you sure you pushed the ribbon cables all the way in?i would check that...blah every day it passes i'm less tempted to change my phat ds shell from looking at all this posts....
     
  8. ConJ

    Member ConJ The Toker

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    918
    Location:
    Glastonbury
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When i had that problem, the ribbons cabels wernt in far enough. Where in England do you live? Id be happy to do it for you.

    Also Dealextreme has free shipping.
     
  9. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, definitely seems like an issue with the ribbon cable, not attached far enough, damaged, etc.
     
  10. Cuber
    OP

    Member Cuber GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've sent them to someone who should know better than me. ^^;
    I'm sure I pushed them in as far as I possibly could my self... Maybe it slipped a bit when I tried to shut the thing... I dunno.

    Still, the bottom screen going funny when I push down on the blue DS is kind of odd.
     

Share This Page