Hacking Need japanese tester with Punch Out on disc

ddven

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 1, 2009
Messages
9
Trophies
0
XP
52
Country
Taiwan
Tested in 3.3J with cIOS36rev10
No Chip
Use Punch Out Ntsc-U Disc

Test 1 :
Language Japanese
Region Disc
Result Doesn't Work

Test 1 :
Language English
Region Disc
Result Doesn't Work


Test 2 :
Language Japanese
Region Disc
Result Works

Test 2 :
Language English
Region Disc
Result Works
 

WiiPower

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
8,165
Trophies
0
XP
345
Country
Gambia, The
Thank you. More confirmation would be nice, but this feature will get implemented into SoftChip(r97?) soon, and then people can start integrating it into the usb loaders.
 

WiiPower

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
8,165
Trophies
0
XP
345
Country
Gambia, The
Hmm, i don't know if it needs further adjustments, but this is the used code:

Code:
void PatchCountryStrings(void *Address, int Size)
{
ÂÂÂÂu8 SearchPattern[4]ÂÂÂÂ= { 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00 };
ÂÂÂÂu8 PatchData[4]ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ= { 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00 };
ÂÂÂÂu8 *AddrÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ= (u8*)Address;

ÂÂÂÂint wiiregion = CONF_GetRegion();

ÂÂÂÂswitch (wiiregion)
ÂÂÂÂ{
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂcase CONF_REGION_JP:
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂSearchPattern[0] = 0x00;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂSearchPattern[1] = 0x4A; // J
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂSearchPattern[2] = 0x50; // P
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂbreak;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂcase CONF_REGION_EU:
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂSearchPattern[0] = 0x02;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂSearchPattern[1] = 0x45; // E
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂSearchPattern[2] = 0x55; // U
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂbreak;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂcase CONF_REGION_KR:
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂSearchPattern[0] = 0x04;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂSearchPattern[1] = 0x4B; // K
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂSearchPattern[2] = 0x52; // R
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂbreak;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂcase CONF_REGION_CN:
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂSearchPattern[0] = 0x05;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂSearchPattern[1] = 0x43; // C
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂSearchPattern[2] = 0x4E; // N
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂbreak;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂcase CONF_REGION_US:
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂdefault:
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂSearchPattern[0] = 0x01;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂSearchPattern[1] = 0x55; // U
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂSearchPattern[2] = 0x53; // S
ÂÂÂÂ}

ÂÂÂÂswitch (*(char*)Memory::Disc_Region) 
ÂÂÂÂ{
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂcase Wii_Disc::Regions::NTSC_Japan:
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂPatchData[1] = 0x4A; // J
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂPatchData[2] = 0x50; // P
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂbreak;

ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂcase Wii_Disc::Regions::PAL_Default:
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂcase Wii_Disc::Regions::PAL_France:
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂcase Wii_Disc::Regions::PAL_Germany:
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂcase Wii_Disc::Regions::Euro_X:
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂcase Wii_Disc::Regions::Euro_Y:
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂPatchData[1] = 0x45; // E
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂPatchData[2] = 0x55; // U
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂbreak;

ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂcase Wii_Disc::Regions::NTSC_USA:
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂdefault:
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂPatchData[1] = 0x55; // U
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂPatchData[2] = 0x53; // S
ÂÂÂÂ}

ÂÂÂÂwhile (Size >= 4)
ÂÂÂÂ{
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂif (Addr[0] == SearchPattern[0] && Addr[1] == SearchPattern[1] && Addr[2] == SearchPattern[2] && Addr[3] == SearchPattern[3])
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ{
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ//*Addr = PatchData[0];
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂAddr += 1;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ*Addr = PatchData[1];
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂAddr += 1;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ*Addr = PatchData[2];
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂAddr += 1;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ//*Addr = PatchData[3];
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂAddr += 1;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂSize -= 4;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ} else
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ{
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂAddr += 4;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂSize -= 4;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ}
ÂÂÂÂ}
}

Any coder should be able to put that into any loader.

PS: Yes the patch really only overwrites the middle 2 bytes and the last byte of the search pattern has to be 0x00.
 

Majin Vegeta

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
159
Trophies
0
XP
100
Country
Gambia, The
Tested on 4.0E
Chip: WiiKey v1
Game: Takt of Magic NTSC-J

Test 1:
Language: Japanese
Video: Disc Region
Result: green screen

Test 1:
Language: Console Language (german)
Video: Disc Region
Result: green screen

Test 2:
Language: Japanese
Video: Disc Region
Result: green screen

Test 2:
Language: Console Language (german)
Video: Disc Region
Result: green screen

Still the same problem.
I also did some random other tests like changing boot IOS, disabling/enabling #002 error removing and that last option (report fake ios or something) with both DOLs, but it was always a green screen.
So for Takt of Magic it doesn't seem to help.
 

TeenTin

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
1,256
Trophies
1
XP
852
Country
Hong Kong
Majin Vegeta said:
Tested on 4.0E
Chip: WiiKey v1
Game: Takt of Magic NTSC-J

Test 1:
Language: Japanese
Video: Disc Region
Result: green screen

Test 1:
Language: Console Language (german)
Video: Disc Region
Result: green screen

Test 2:
Language: Japanese
Video: Disc Region
Result: green screen

Test 2:
Language: Console Language (german)
Video: Disc Region
Result: green screen

Still the same problem.
I also did some random other tests like changing boot IOS, disabling/enabling #002 error removing and that last option (report fake ios or something) with both DOLs, but it was always a green screen.
So for Takt of Magic it doesn't seem to help.

This is for Punch Out !!
 

WiiPower

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
8,165
Trophies
0
XP
345
Country
Gambia, The
Majin Vegeta said:
TeenTin said:
This is for Punch Out !!
I was told by WiiPower in a PM to also test this with Takt of Magic.

It was worth a try. But your green screen freeze looks suspicious to me, you know that it mostly occurs when running a game in a video mode that is not inside the game? If there was a region patch of some kind applied, disc region video mode fails, and this Country string patching fails. It's both determined by the 4th character of the discID. I just say that so you could check if your disc was patched somehow if you did not backu it yourself.
 

Majin Vegeta

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
159
Trophies
0
XP
100
Country
Gambia, The
Yes, I know that. But I'm sure the disc is untouched, the 4th character is a "J" like it should be and I also got it from a japanese network and I'm sure the ppl there wouldn't have a reason to apply some region or video mode patches.
Also, my Wii is patched to use NTSC video mode and I also tried the "Wii Video mode" in your both loaders, still green screen.
 

ddven

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 1, 2009
Messages
9
Trophies
0
XP
52
Country
Taiwan
about Takt of Magic
In my 3.3J also doesn't work

According to some chinese forum
Install cIOScorp then use Gecko OS 1.901 to play

but Backup Launcher and SoftChip still get green screen
 

WiiPower

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
8,165
Trophies
0
XP
345
Country
Gambia, The
Ok, i just wanted to be sure. But what do you mean by: "my Wii is patched to use NTSC video mode"? I hope you did not enable any region free preloader hacks or something like this. Such stuff only disturbs loaders and actually reduces the compatiblity when using loaders. (these hacks are only good for disc channel, nothing more)
 

kyogc

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2008
Messages
324
Trophies
0
Age
47
Website
Visit site
XP
93
Country
Taiwan
Actually, Takt of Magic works with cIOS55 from CIOSCORP and SoftChip with IOS55 selected.

But, I think this is the same as using CIOSCORP with Gecko OS.
 

WiiPower

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
8,165
Trophies
0
XP
345
Country
Gambia, The
kyogc said:
Actually, Takt of Magic works with cIOS55 from CIOSCORP and SoftChip with IOS55 selected.

But, I think this is the same as using CIOSCORP with Gecko OS.

Then i would like 2 testers:
1. Japanese Wii, no modchip, no cioscorp, disc patched to use IOS249
2. US Wii, no modchip, no cioscorp, disc patched to IOS249

And test with my 2 test programs. I'm getting contradictory statements about this game, i don't know what to think about it.
 

WiiPower

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
8,165
Trophies
0
XP
345
Country
Gambia, The
SoftChip r98 has this patch integrated, if that does not work, the test version i posted here won't work too. Ok, i need confirmation that SoftChip r98 really works for Punch Out on japanese Wiis, as i'm doing it blindly, but it should work.

That's 2 confirmations on Takt of Magic now that even patched to IOS249, it's a no go. I heard that installing the IOS requesed by the game(IOS53 or 55?) from cioscorp and running it from the new Gecko OS works. (to run backups in the new Gecko OS you need at least cIOS36 from cioscorp and the IOS requested by the game from cioscorp). Well if that works, it's interesting if selecting that IOS in SoftChip also works or not.
 

ddven

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 1, 2009
Messages
9
Trophies
0
XP
52
Country
Taiwan
It remind me about Monster Hunter G
That game didn't work with usb loader,backup launcher and softchip
But works with a chipped wii or Softmii
Someone find out it will work if you install the ios55 from cIOScorp then use softchip select IOS55 to play

Takt of Magic also need to intsall cIOScorp to play.
But this time use softchip select IOS55 won't work.
You have to install entire cIOScorp and use the disc channel from system menu to play.
Using Gecko OS just for avoid the update from game disc.

These two games works perfectly with japan chipped wii.
Just can't run with normal soft mod for wii.
 

WiiPower

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
8,165
Trophies
0
XP
345
Country
Gambia, The
ddven said:
It remind me about Monster Hunter G
That game didn't work with usb loader,backup launcher and softchip
But works with a chipped wii or Softmii
Someone find out it will work if you install the ios55 from cIOScorp then use softchip select IOS55 to play

Takt of Magic also need to intsall cIOScorp to play.
But this time use softchip select IOS55 won't work.
You have to install entire cIOScorp and use the disc channel from system menu to play.
Using Gecko OS just for avoid the update from game disc.

These two games works perfectly with japan chipped wii.
Just can't run with normal soft mod for wii.

Thank you for this information, so there are 2 options:
1. Modchip + use Gecko OS to get the IOS + start from the disc channel
2. Full cioscorp install + start from the disc channel

?

QUOTE(Bloodlust @ May 29 2009, 02:00 PM) I can confirm that punch out (US ver) works with softchip R98 using 4.0J firmware with wiikey using IOS249

Thanks.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A0FyqCEfD0E