You can mod a PSP using Lumines?

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by ackers, Oct 31, 2007.

Oct 31, 2007
  1. ackers
    OP

    Member ackers GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My electrical lecturer said he modded his PSP with just a copy of Lumines. Is he talking out of his ass?
     
  2. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    No he's not.
     
  3. MC DUI

    Member MC DUI GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,916
    Location:
    Newcastle, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    No he isn't talking out of his ass, the original Lumines UMD has an exploit in the coding that allows you to run homebrew code, thus allowing a downgrader program to be executed.

    They patched it for more recent copies of Lumines and more recent firmware releases.
     
  4. phoood

    Member phoood taking it to a whole new level.

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001
    Location:
    Jewgoslavia
    Country:
    United States
    But you'd need to set it up. It's not like theres an option in Lumines that lets you downgrade.
     
  5. blaydes99

    Newcomer blaydes99 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    What's the easiest way of knowing if your copy of Lumines is the older version vs. the newer version?
     
  6. hankchill

    Member hankchill I Pwn n00bs.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,344
    Location:
    Outer Space
    Country:
    Canada
    Look at the spine of the PSP case. At the bottom, the one that's able to modify the PSP says 'ULUS 10002'

    I've got an extra copy sitting right here that's never been played [​IMG]
     
  7. puff1983

    Newcomer puff1983 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Cub Nation
    Country:
    United States
    From what I understand, any copy of Lumines can help you downgrade. I used a greatest hits copy to mod my co-workers PSP. I think the PSP has to be on official firmware 3.1 to 3.5 to work but don't take my word for it.
     
  8. ackers
    OP

    Member ackers GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Surely there is more to just Lumines modding your PSP? Spill the beans.
     
  9. BoneMonkey

    Banned BoneMonkey The cheese stash is a lie.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,226
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    you can also do it with old copiyes of grand theft auto
     
  10. OG LOCC NESS

    Member OG LOCC NESS GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Messages:
    537
    Country:
    United States
    And I'm pretty sure you can downgrade with Dark_Alex's "Despertar Cementerio" program.
     
  11. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
     
  12. ackers
    OP

    Member ackers GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Scorpei but I don't wanna dl a 100mb file just to read the modding process. If I owned a PSP then sure... I gotta quick question: for my cousins PSP, do they need any additional hardware, just the game and the PSP?
     
  13. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Haha, don't worry the guide itself isn't so big [​IMG]. The 100 megs is just the files which you need for the downgrade. The guide itself is in a nice and small (3.5 megabytes) pdf file (you would have seen that if you would have opened the page [​IMG] ).
     
  14. mattchase00

    Newcomer mattchase00 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    Just used your tutorial scorpei, just got to say it was very easy to follow and im enjoying playing my nintendo games on psp, ah the bigger screen!
     
  15. sekhu

    Member sekhu moo?

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,156
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I might have to try this guide. cheers
     

Share This Page