Wrong System Menu Installed

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by ankc, Nov 21, 2010.

Nov 21, 2010

Wrong System Menu Installed by ankc at 10:40 AM (2,261 Views / 0 Likes) 25 replies

  1. ankc
    OP

    Member ankc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    Mauritius
    A friend of mine accidentally installed a ninty update(don't know which one) which is not for his wii(J)...i think he installed a NTSC system via games update...does anyone know how to fix that?btw the wii can't read any disc despite being hardmodded and i think he got the "opera" error...thx
     


  2. OriginalHamster

    Member OriginalHamster UStealthy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,260
    Country:
    Chile
    Can you run another NTSC-J game that contains the latest Firmware? Your friend Wii is japanese right?
    Just an idea, other people knows better than me about region conflicts.
     
  3. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    This will only work if he doesn't have 4.3...If he updated to 4.3U, putting in a game with 4.3J WILL NOT fix it.

    If it has HBC installed, just get MMM and use it to install the correct menu.

    If the wii doesn't have HBC and is not on 4.3, use bannerbomb to install HBC, then run MMM. If the wii is on 4.3 without HBC, I think you're stuck (hacking 4.3 requires a game).
     
  4. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    Game exploits will still work on a semi bricked 4.3 wii.
     
  5. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    His wii won't read discs.
     
  6. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    The update may have trashes his modchip. Sometimes modchip users can not read discs after the update. The semi brick does not help things either. Hopefully he is not on 4.3, what game was the wii updated from?
    OP- are you loading retail disc that are in the region of the wii? Try disc in the region of the wii, and try disc that are in the region of the system menu. I think that the wii will only read disc in the region of the setting.txt on 4.2/4.3 wiis, I don't think the system menu is involved- I could be wrong.
    If you can't get any disc to read, you should try to run the firmware disc and config disc for your chip again. You may need to try to remove the chip if nothing else works for you.
     
  7. Porobu

    Member Porobu Gbatemps Shiny Latias

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042
    Country:
    Spain
    does he have bootmii/boot2?
     
  8. ankc
    OP

    Member ankc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    Mauritius
    thx everyone for your replies...i think the wii is on 2.X....dunno what...according to modmii i have to use games to mod the wii and can't use bannerbomb...can someone confirm that?i downloaded the update from there http://hackmii.com/2008/05/semi-brick-fix-discs/...tried both the original and repad version...none worked..thx
     
  9. ankc
    OP

    Member ankc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    Mauritius
    no...[​IMG]
     
  10. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    Load up Bannerbomb v2, if you get error 004 you have system menu 4.3 and you will need to use a disc exploit to fix it, unless you have the HBC or a Forwarder Channel installed.

    Was this wii softmoded or only the chip?
    What kind of chip do you have? I you can't get it to work, you may need to take it out to test disc loading without the chip.
     
  11. ankc
    OP

    Member ankc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    Mauritius
    he definitely has around 2.X....he said he bought it about 5 years ago and he's not connected to the internet....so he could not have updated to 4.3....can bannerbomb work on versions below 3.X?he doesn't have any softmod...as for the chip i don't know and him either...he didn't even know that his wii was mooded when he bought it...
     
  12. ankc
    OP

    Member ankc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    Mauritius
    can someone tell me which japanese game has an update 3.X+?thx
     
  13. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    You said he installed an update via disc. Discs aren't the Internet.
     
  14. ankc
    OP

    Member ankc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    Mauritius
    what you mean?
     
  15. Porobu

    Member Porobu Gbatemps Shiny Latias

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042
    Country:
    Spain
    that some discs have updates inside
     
  16. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    Some discs have 4.3 on them. He could have updated to anything. Use savemiifrii to find out what it is.
    Sd icon on channel menu is 4.x
    No sd icon 3.x or less.

    Most games have an update in the 3.x range, 2.x update is less common. New games have 4.x.
     
  17. ankc
    OP

    Member ankc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    Mauritius
    it impossible for 4.3 since it was done about a year ago....assuming he was on 2.XJ before and the update he installed was 3.XU do i have to install an update more recent that 2.XJ or 3.XJ?thx
     
  18. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    You need to install a disc update that has a higher version number than the currently installed system menu. First you need to get the wii to read NTSC-J discs. Find out what kind of chip is installed, then update the firmware and settings for that chip. Depending on the chip depends on how you do this. Hopefully that will get you loading discs again.
     
  19. ankc
    OP

    Member ankc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    Mauritius
    assuming i managed to find out what chip is installed,where can i get its updates and how can i install them?thx
     
  20. Riley

    Member Riley GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Google the chip and find the firmware updates.
     

Share This Page