Would This CPU Work...?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by SamusKnight2K, Apr 7, 2009.

Apr 7, 2009

Would This CPU Work...? by SamusKnight2K at 9:35 AM (1,747 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. SamusKnight2K
    OP

    Member SamusKnight2K GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, so I just bought a new motherboard for my system via an online site, it's an ASUS P5LD2 Deluxe LGA 775 Motherboard. Reading around it would seem an Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Quad-Core Processor should work in it. But seeing as my computer knowledge is somewhat limited when it comes to Processor specifics I hope someone here might be able to answer it for me. If you have/know someone who's used this motherboard could you confirm if a Q6600 would be supported in it? The board can use 65nm processors which the above is. I use my PC for mostly surfing amongst also gaming so most recommend going with Quad over Dual. Since I'll be saving up to replace my P4 3.2GHz single core I'm thinking going with the better performance upgrade I can support (Being a quad-core for this specific motherboard.) is probably the best. Thanks.
     
  2. jqwest

    Newcomer jqwest Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    United States
    U definitely got to go with a 45nm quad core almost same price and way cooler for the future...dont even think about the q6600, its way past its prime
     
  3. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    http://support.asus.com/cpusupport/cpusupp...e&product=1

    AKA, in case you don't understand, the fastest thing that motherboard (officially) supports is a Pentium D 960, which is in essence 2 pentium 4 3,6GHz stuck together on one chip. Miles away from the core 2 duo and quad architecture. Depending on how cheap you can get that Pentium D, you might be better off with a different mobo, though the pentium d is quite an upgrade for multi threaded applications. Also from 3,2 to 3,6 is a small speed boost.

    Also bear in mind that the correct BIOS must be installed on the motherboard for it to even boot / POST. As such say version 2 is on there and the processor is only supported from version 3 the system will be unable to boot regardless of whether both components are in perfect working condition. The only cure then is to upgrade the BIOS by using a different processor that is supported from BIOS 2 or 1 (assuming that 1 -> 2 did not loose support for CPUs). When ordering a motherboard one can never be sure unless it is specifically stated which BIOS version is supplied with the board.
     
  4. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,185
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    well dual cores will perform better in games, quad cores are better for applications (encoding and what not) it wont really affect things like web browsing at all since there is very little cpu demand from them
    the Q6600 is going to be phased out this june
    so yea, old tech getting replaced by the 45nm Q8 series
     
  5. SamusKnight2K
    OP

    Member SamusKnight2K GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm, honestly I'm now a little confused what my board really is... According to the info I got here's the label for it:

    MB-SK-775-AS-P5LD2WI

    So now I'm not sure... Is it a P5LD2 or a P5LD2-Deluxe? I was thinking it was a Deluxe due to the mention of a WiFi controller built into it, but there's no mention of the TV tuner.

    Info from site:

    CPU


    LGA775 socket for Intel® Pentium® D / Pentium® 4 / Celeron® D Processors
    Intel® EM64T / EIST / Hyper-Threading Technology
    Chipset

    Intel 945P/G
    Intel ICH7
    Front Side Bus

    1066/800/533 MHz

    Memory


    4 x DIMM, max. 4GB, DDR2 667/533/400, Non-ECC, un-buffered memory
    Dual Channel Architecture
    * Due to general PC architecture, a small amount of memory is reserved for system usage and thus the actual memory size is less than the stated amount.
    Expansion Slots

    1 xPCI-E x16
    2 xPCI-E x1
    3 xPCI

    Storage/RAID


    Intel ICH7 Southbridge:
    1 x UltraDMA 100/66/33
    4 x Serial ATA (3Gb/s)
    Audio

    ADI1986A 6-ch Audio CODEC
    Jack Sensing and Enumeration
    S/PDIF out interface

    LAN


    RTL8111B PCI-E Gb LAN controller
    RTL8187L 802.11 802.11a/b/g wireless controller

    USB

    6 USB2.0 ports

    Overclocking Features

    SFS (Stepless Frequency Selection): from 100MHz up to 450MHz at 1MHz increment
    ASUS PEG Link
    vCore: Adjustable CPU voltage at 0.025 V increment
    ASUS EZFlash
    Adjustable FSB/DDR ratio. Fixed PCI/PCIe frequencies.
    4-step DRAM voltage control
    ASUS C.P.R.(CPU Parameter Recall)

    Other ASUS Special Features

    ASUS Q-Fan

    Back Panel I/O Ports


    1 x Parallel
    1 x Serial
    1 x PS/2 Keyboard
    1 x PS/2 Mouse
    1 x Audio I/O
    1 x RJ45
    1 x S/PDIF Out (Coaxial)
    4 x USB

    Info above says Celeron D/Pentium D/Pentium 4 are supported. But again it could just be then that it's got an outdated BIOS installed since it's an OEM version. I might not know until it arrives. :/
     
  6. Myke

    Member Myke so tasty!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,523
    Location:
    GBAtemp Art Studio
    Country:
    United States
    I know this may throw you off a bit, but I noticed you are also getting a mother board and not just updating your processor. Have you considered getting one of those newer intel i7 processor, with an i7 mobo?

    The reason I'm asking is because I just recently got parts to my new pc (should arrive tomorrow), and I was considering getting a q 9650, but then I noticed that the i7 920 was cheaper, and upon seeing benchmark tests, it has a 20 to 30% gain compared to the q9650. I ended up getting an i7 system for less money than a core 2 quad system.
     
  7. SamusKnight2K
    OP

    Member SamusKnight2K GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    United States
    Unfortunately a Quad doesn't seem to be an option for me after all. My motherboard appears to be an ASUS P5LD2 SE version which doesn't support Quads. So alternative is to get a Dual Core like suggested. But until it arrives I'll have to wait to see if Core 2 Duo or just Pentium/Celeron D's are supported. As for the motherboard I don't do upgrades very often. I got the motherboard for under $27.00 and at this time seems like a waste to toss it out for something else after buying it. I'm on a somewhat tight budget anyway so I'll go for the best alternative I can get that'll be supported for my motherboard. Until then, this thread served its purpose more or less and can probably be locked or left alone now.
     
  8. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,185
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    I doubt the 945 chipset supports core 2 duo's even with the newest bios update
     
  9. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Whichi s why I posted the link to the asus website which clearly states the CPU support list, and why I stated in my post the fastest CPU supported would be the Pentium D960... A well...
     
  10. SamusKnight2K
    OP

    Member SamusKnight2K GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    United States
    I was wrong in the type of board mine was. It's actually an ASUS P5LD2 SE which can support Intel Core 2 Duo providing it's a PCB R2.0 version. So when my motherboard arrives I'll have to check the revision in the BIOS to see if it can/can't support it. Now, my board IS a P5LD2 SE version, but apparently it's one of the models where the 3rd PCI slot has been removed and instead fitted with an on-board WiFi controller.
     
  11. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    http://support.asus.com/cpusupport/cpusupp...E&product=1
    As far as I can see there are 3 revisions of the board. Rev. 1 rev. 2.00G and 2.01G. If not much else has changed you can probably flash the BIOS of the later revisions on a rev.1 board. If not, you're stuck with the same Pentium D960. And indeed, you will need the proper BIOS version. The number of supported procs isn;t that high though... Have fun ^^. BTW, you do understand you need a CPU installed (a supported one) to see POST and thus see the BIOS version installed right...?
     
  12. SamusKnight2K
    OP

    Member SamusKnight2K GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    United States
    Yea, I'm aware of that. My current processor is supported even w/o the BIOS upgrades. I have a P4 3.2GHz w/HT Single Core.
     

Share This Page