Would be nice if...

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by BowlOfSpiders, Feb 20, 2009.

Feb 20, 2009

Would be nice if... by BowlOfSpiders at 4:45 PM (1,197 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. BowlOfSpiders
    OP

    Member BowlOfSpiders hi

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    There was a homebrew that let's you record your nds gameplay in game.
     
  2. Jayenkai

    Member Jayenkai GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not a chance..
     
  3. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Yes it would be cool. No it would not be possible.
     
  4. OneMichael

    Newcomer OneMichael Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Mmmm, I don't know? If it wrapped the game with headers and recorded a two-bit image of half the screen at a time using interleaving, and maybe two or three frames a second, it could be possible!
    Mind you, on games with full stacks it would end up crashing, but I'm sure that's only a minor detail. Who plays those kinds of highly-graphical, fast-paced games?
     
  5. ball2012003

    ball2012003 Newbie

    that would be pretty cool
    but why not just use a regular camera to record your gameplay
     
  6. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, here's the issue. The DS has no operating system, so you cannot run more than one program at once. Once the game you want is loaded, the "video capturing" homebrew would be shut out of memory entirely and the game would take over. Thus, the only possible option would be to patch the rom directly, but then the question is, where would you store the captured images? And then there's the fact that the DS hardware only has a function to capture a screenshot of the primary screen (which is chosen by the developer).

    So in essence, even asking for in-game screenshots is a terribly high request. I believe the CycloDS Evo team was looking into supporting in-game screenshots, but only a few at a time due to memory restrictions, and you'd have to store them in RAW format until you had the chance to convert to a human-viewable format. I don't know if anything ever became of that.
     
  7. spleenandpie

    Member spleenandpie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Halifax,Nova Scotia
    Country:
    Canada
    delete this topic cause to many people ask this
     
  8. Jayenkai

    Member Jayenkai GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    True, except that if it's deleted, the next person would have no "It's not possible" answer, and would then have to make another topic.

    I'd suggest renaming the topic, though...
     
  9. Sarvesh50

    Member Sarvesh50 Aye!

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    915
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    haha the crappy 4 mb ram is always the crappy problem in the nds homebrew scene
     
  10. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Troll detected. The amount of RAM in the DS has absolutely nothing to do with the possibility of a screen recorder.
     
  11. sprogurt

    Member sprogurt GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    375
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what is the hardware that ign, official ninteno mag etc uses to capture gameplay?
     
  12. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    I believe that is called a NITRO kit, and it's not available for public use. That same hardware is also what allows them to output the DS video to regular TV screens. A cool device indeed, but not something we can count on ever being able to use for our own personal usage.
     
  13. sprogurt

    Member sprogurt GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    375
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    fingers crossed for 3rd parties! XD
     

Share This Page