Windows License Key

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by .Chris, Mar 25, 2011.

Mar 25, 2011

Windows License Key by .Chris at 9:59 PM (958 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. .Chris
    OP

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Is the Windows License Key the same as a Product Key?
    And it is found here, correct? (Sorry about the newb question)

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Schlupi

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniacâ„¢

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
  3. grubbymitts

    Member grubbymitts GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    241
    Country:
  4. .Chris
    OP

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    You sure? Okay, thanks guys!
     
  5. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Yeup that's the one, however you should only need it if you're doing an re-installation. If you're not and you're using it for something else then ignore the following paragraph.

    If you're doing a reinstallation, you have to have an install disc with the same Windows XP version as you bought it with. So for example, that Acer seems like it came with Windows XP Home Edition. If you're using a CD with SP2 or SP3 and the original computer came with SP1 or maybe even not an SP, then its going to reject your Product Key because the newer SP's will have a list of all the used Product Keys and yours will be listed. If you're using a CD with exact same OS with the correct SP, it will allow you through installation. However, once at your desktop it will connect to the internet and Microsoft will inform you that that Product Key has already been used. This is when you call them up and tell them you need it renewed because you're reinstalling the OS on the same system and they'll renew it for you.
     
  6. Yuan

    Member Yuan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,271
    Country:
    Brazil
    Well, you may rip the original CD and slipstream SP3 on it then burn on another without problems. I did it on a friend's PC and it installed fine with his serial key.
     
  7. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Really? Well that's interesting [​IMG]

    I don't know exactly how to slipstream but I'm assuming whatever determines whether or not a key is legit probably is kept intact.
     
  8. .Chris
    OP

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    What if I am not going to use the Installation CD that my computer came with?
     
  9. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    All CDs/DVDs of the same type are exactly the same. Your Windows XP Home SP2 CD is the same as my Windows XP Home SP 2 CD.
    All CDs/DVDs of the same edition take the same keys. Your Windows XP Home SP2 CD will take the same keys as my Windows XP Home SP3 SlipStreamed CD.

    The only time you might have to worry is when mixing OEM and Retail.
    I think an OEM CD will take Retail keys, but a Retail CD will not take OEM keys.
     
  10. .Chris
    OP

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    So it's okay if I download it off the internet and it will still be the same?

    EDIT: And do you mind if you look at my other problem here?
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=284...0&p=3538413
     
  11. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    So long as no one has tampered with it? Yeah.

    Microsoft has a list of MD5SHA1 Sums for all their releases, I'll look for it and update this post with it.
    You can use just about any hash checker to verify the MD5SHA1 and make sure it wasn't altered. I like to use HashCheck since it's Right Click -> Properties -> Checksums tab for any file, folder or group of files/folders.



    https://technet.microsoft.com/subscriptions...ds/default.aspx --You may have to sign up/log in with a free account.
    On the left side, click Operating Systems, then scroll down to Windows XP.
    It will bring up a list of the all different editions, find yours and click View and verify your SHA1 matches what you've got.
     
  12. Yuan

    Member Yuan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,271
    Country:
    Brazil
    Using this program:

    http://www.nliteos.com/
     

Share This Page