Windows 95 on NDS ?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by livetek, Sep 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Sep 19, 2010

Windows 95 on NDS ? by livetek at 3:01 PM (6,334 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. livetek
    OP

    Newcomer livetek Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    France


  2. Xenon++

    Member Xenon++ Taiju Yamada

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,394
    Country:
    Japan
    Due to the memory usage of DSx86 itself, only 3.5MB allowed.
    Anyway NDS has very slow CPU so Win32(s) will run very slow even if possible.
     
  3. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    FYI... Flash Memory =/= RAM
     
  4. livetek
    OP

    Newcomer livetek Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    France
    Yes but i think DSx86 will use in his next version ExRam of Slot 2 to use 8/16/32mb.
    I know for the CPU but i think it's not a very big problem if the most important work (Win95).

    twiztidsinz => You say Flash Memory =/= Ram but how many Mb need W95 to work for flash memory ?
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Windows 95 will work just fine with a few hundred megs of space.

    The problem is RAM, as was said before.
     
  6. livetek
    OP

    Newcomer livetek Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    France
    Ok but if you have an ExRam or SCDSTwo it will work correctly no? My old laptop worked perfectly with 64mb with W98. On the other side, we must ask to the author of DSx86 to release an update of his HB to be able to use Exram.
     
  7. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,670
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    The DSTwo version MIGHT support it.

    You'll have to wait for that. Which, by the way, should come out in the near future.
     
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The author will need to specifically program it to use one of those devices.
     
  9. 0ddity

    Member 0ddity GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    438
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Won't happen.

    DSx86 only emulates an 80186 CPU, which is 8 MHz, Win 95 requires a 80386 minimum, which ranged from 12-40 mhz. A 80486 was recommended, which ran from 16 to 100 Mhz.
     
  10. Bunie

    Member Bunie #1 Princess

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    553
    Location:
    Pleasureville, KY
    Country:
    United States
    Don't forget to mention RAM xD
     
  11. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    A 32GB MiniSD isn't going to make one bit of difference because, as I said, Flash Memory IS NOT RAM.
    While you CAN use disk space as 'virtual memory' it is too slow to be used as primary RAM.

    As a comparison, a good MicroSDHC card (Class 6) has 6MB/s write speed and 12MB/s Read speed.
    DDR2-SDRAM (relatively old, but admittedly not as old as Windows 95) has a speed of 3200 MB/s.

    DDR-2SDRAM is 266.67 times faster than a MiniSD or MicroSD card.



    MiniSD and MicroSD/HC Read Speeds taken from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MicroSDHC#Comparisons on the "Max Transfer" line, 8Mbits = 1MBytes, so 100Mb = 12.5MB
    MicroSDHC Write Speeds are based on their Class Rating and is directly equal to MB/s, so a Class 6 = 6MB/s Write Speed.
    DDR2-SDRAM speeds taken from the second paragraph of http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DDR2_SDRAM "Thus with a memory clock frequency of 100 MHz, DDR2 SDRAM gives a maximum transfer rate of 3200 MB/s."
     
  12. Chase-san

    Member Chase-san GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    The best you could hope for is windows 3.1. Which is generally just a really fancy DOS front end. Even if windows 95 was able to run, don't expect to do anything else on it (if you we're thinking of such). My old 486 was nice and super slow with 95 on it. I had 12mb of ram.
     
  13. livetek
    OP

    Newcomer livetek Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    France
    Ok, Thanks for your answer all.
    I will wait a new release of the DSx86 Homebrew and ask to the author if he can use this new features later...
     
  14. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Uhm... We've had Slot-2 RAM for years now. He wasn't saying his MiniSD was working as RAM he was saying that the Supercard MiniSD (a slot 2 card) has 32mb of RAM within it. The RAM is relatively slow but it IS there.
     
  15. 0ddity

    Member 0ddity GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    438
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Irrelevent. dsx86 only emulates the 80186 CPU, Win 95 requires minimum of a 80386 to run, I doubt the DS is fast enough to emulate that.
     
  16. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Actually it emulates an 80286 without protected mode, and if you check the updates he's working on the DSTwo port to support the 386, and he says maybe the 486, though he says the 386 is his definite goal.
     
  17. 0ddity

    Member 0ddity GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    438
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok, so maybe, after he updates dsx86 to emulate a 386, if you have a dstwo, you might get Win 95 running, really slow.
     
  18. livetek
    OP

    Newcomer livetek Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    France
    Same as PSP ...
     
  19. T3GZdev

    Member T3GZdev head of T3GZdev

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    985
    Country:
    United States
    so is this possible now?
     
  20. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,771
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Nope.
    But your can emulate Windows 3.0a
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page