Windows 7 VS Windows 8 RTM 9200?!

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Centrix, Aug 26, 2012.

Aug 26, 2012
  1. Centrix
    OP

    Member Centrix Stop Poking the Moogle!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    888
    Location:
    Seattle,WA
    Country:
    United States
    Ok so I know you have seen my last few posts about which os is better and why and several other posts in regards to XP, 7 and 8! but this time around its slightly different, I'd like to know whats so different about the two other than the Metro UI in 8 and what is going on behind the scenes of Windows 7 and 8. In other words who's doing the better processing of games, programs like Photoshop and Dreamweaver and emulators etc.

    If possible some detailed specs or links to reliable sources, as some one who enjoys both 7 and 8 but has a love/hate relationship for the new Windows 8 Metro UI I'd like to get your input as I find my self bouncing back forth between 7 and 8 all to often and I'd like to learn more about both os's a little more.

    Any help would be great, I prefer to come here for answers because there is so much information of google that I usually find coming here is the best way to find help or get answers to questions like these, thanks as always :)
     


  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    It'd be stupid to listen to other people about it right now. Around an OS's release is when the most bullshit about it crops up. People read something on a site and repeat it whether it's true or not, people will make shit up to look like they know what they're talking about, people will do comparisons that aren't fair in the least (comparing an OEM install of 7 that was used for 5 years to a fresh install of 8) and so on. Wait, and then make your own decision.

    That said, if a program was properly written for 7, it will work on 8, so don't worry.
     
    4 people like this.
  3. Ericthegreat

    Member Ericthegreat Not New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,767
    Location:
    Vana'diel
    Country:
    United States
    I still don't know if i'm going to switch to 8, the metro ui looks great but using it is so annoying.
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. Centrix
    OP

    Member Centrix Stop Poking the Moogle!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    888
    Location:
    Seattle,WA
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks again Rydian once more :)
     
  5. loco365

    Member loco365 GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,459
    You can disable it in your registry. I think newer versions allow you to disable it in the Control Panel.
     
  6. Ericthegreat

    Member Ericthegreat Not New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,767
    Location:
    Vana'diel
    Country:
    United States
    Really? Then I guess the question is if there is a speed improvment, and how the ms store works out....
     
  7. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I read that was only possible in the pre-release and you can no longer do it in RTM.
    Also, when I tested RTM I couldn't find an option anywhere (including control panel) to disable it. There are 3rd party applications you can use to remove it but tbh it's not worth it.

    If this is the way that Windows is heading then you might as well stick with it and get used to it. The new system is slightly confusing at first if you're used to previous version of Windows but with a little getting used to it becomes manageable. Besides, the only bit that has changed is when you click the start button, instead of getting the normal start menu it shows a full screen that acts as a sort-of homepage, displaying apps etc. The only stupid thing (IMO) is when you click these apps (opposed to searching for the actual program) they open in full screen completely separate to the desktop. It's as if it treats the desktop as it's own application, however this is only if you open programs in a specific way, otherwise you can still have your normal taskbar etc.

    Hope all that made sense :L

    Edit: Oh, and Windows Explorer has a new 'ribbon' interface much the same as Office 2010 which, like Office, takes a bit of getting used to but is mostly logical and is fairly simple. (Again, you can disable this fairly easily if you wish).
     
  8. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Indeed. I haven't found anything in the Control Panel either.

    Win8 is nice, and it feels snappy. Not sure if it's faster than Win7 or anything, since I was running it in a VM.

    Anyway, I can't stand Metro for now. It looks great on paper, then you realize that it's made for touchscreens, and that it's awkward as heck to use it on a DESKTOP.
     
    3 people like this.
  9. loco365

    Member loco365 GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,459
    Don't I know that pain. If I had a tablet, it'd be really nice to have, but a desktop? It's just... ...Weird.
     
    1 person likes this.
  10. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    wait until we live in the future when we have touch screen holographic displays

    edit: and gamers won't use them because they will live in a VR environment
     
  11. Centrix
    OP

    Member Centrix Stop Poking the Moogle!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    888
    Location:
    Seattle,WA
    Country:
    United States
    I decided to go back to W7 after reading all your posts, I think Rydian helped me see the light again, I thought about it for a while last night and formatted this morning. I realized there's no point in staying with W8 when one, the only activators out there just remove the water mark and increase the time to 100+ days if I remember right. The other reason is security holes and lack of updates at the moment. Since I am hearing that servers aren't up or blocking keys I can assume that the few updates I did get were either with the OS or pre-released by Microsoft. Either way Rydian is right, I'm just gonna tough it out until W8 is out the month of my Bday...wow I get RE6 and a New OS for my bday sick :)

    PS: sorry if I spelt your name wrong Rydian was to lazy to scroll up this morning :D
     
  12. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,503
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
    I would prefer to test it myself with very own eyes without a review. The review itself is just an opinion and inaccurate. A precisely accurate is: Your own test and your decision to make. It is better that way. Just saying. :)
     
    1 person likes this.
  13. loco365

    Member loco365 GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,459
    "They" would refer to the people that would want to see furries, Pokémon and almost anything else that you'd want to interact with that won't kill you.
     
  14. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What about walking down the street and viewing everyone as having headcrabs on their head with long claws, screaming wildly? Of course you would be in a HEV suit.
     
    1 person likes this.
  15. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Pro Tip: Don't install a bloody beta/pre-release OS as your main system OS.
    It bugs me how many people on this forum did it. ITS A BETA! Its not meant for full use just now. And that leaked version is gonna become rife with problems once the actual release comes out. I had enough trouble when I dual booted (getting rid of the OS choice menu was a bitch and I'm still not sure I actually managed)

    Seriously right now stick with WIndows 7. Its just what you should do. Wait until the full build comes out then think about upgrading,
     
  16. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,934
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Win 7

    Metro UI can be great.
    FOR TABLETS/SMARTPHONES.
    Not for desktops/laptops or non touch screens.

    It's hard to use and impractical with a mouse.
     
    1 person likes this.
  17. Magsor

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    But it just fast as lightning and easy with a KEYBOARD
     
  18. Memoir

    Member Memoir Undeserved

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,950
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Country:
    United States
    I don't understand why some of you say it was meant for tablets and touch screens... It just seems like you didn't take the time to try and learn it. It's easy to use, and personally I think it's a lot better than the start menu on W7. That's just me.

    Not to mention that as of this morning. It's still faster than windows 7 ever was for me.. I have installed all the same crap I had on 7. All the drivers and what not. I personally think it's a better experience. However I have noticed that Firefox has developed a bad lag when starting a download.. It even becomes unresponsive and just mocks me.

    I really like the way the menu pops up when you hover at the bottom right. Allows me to expand or duplicate my desktop when necessary. I have a dual screen setup with my Xbox 360 and Wii on one of the tvs as well.

    Tl;dr: Even with its flaws, windows 8 is fine if you learn it.
     
  19. loco365

    Member loco365 GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,459
    You had that many issues with it? Weird. I just formatted the partition I had installed an old beta of it on, then merged it with my current partition to get back my whole drive. My boot menu just rid itself of the Windows 8 Pre-Release link and it just has Vista and "An earlier version of Windows".
     
  20. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Mine kept the Windows 8 GUI boot and tried tried to repair itself. Failing, of course, because it had nothing to go to. Its still lurking on my Harddrive and I can access it from GRUB/BURG. I've tried many MBR rewrites on several partitions to try and rid myself of it. None have worked.
     

Share This Page