Will my computer explode again?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by AlanJohn, Oct 24, 2011.

Oct 24, 2011
  1. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    I changed the PSU of my PC after it exploded, but now things are alright.
    But now I'm worried if it could occur again.
    Does this have anything to do with the cable? Do I need to buy a different one?
     
  2. air2004

    Member air2004 Air

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,536
    Location:
    Anytown
    Country:
    United States
    A little more info would be helpful
     
  3. thegame07

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cheap PSU malfunctioning isn't rare, it's probably the most popular thing to break inside a pc.

    If you post the specs of your pc and what case etc you're using including the brand and details of your psu. It would help with your question as It would tell us if you have bought a strong enough psu.
     
  4. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Oh nevermind, I just use the cable from the monitor I have.
     
  5. HaniKazmi

    Member HaniKazmi GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm pretty sure the cable wasnt the problem…
     
  6. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,930
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Upgrading to a better PSU with a higher wattage could solve the problem.
     
  7. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    ...I already upgraded to 450 :mellow:.

    The only thing that I was worried, was that I saw it explode from the cable itself.
     
  8. Berthenk

    Member Berthenk Epitome of Awesomeness

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,314
    Country:
    Netherlands
    More details, please? You're not telling us much at all.
     
  9. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    lets close this topic since i'm too lazy to open CPU-Z and I already fixed the problem~
     
  10. Midna

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania
    Herp a derp. Make a help thread with no details, refuse to provide details, then solve it yourself and ask to close the thread.

    I hope the PSU explodes again because you wouldn't tell us about it
     
    1 person likes this.
  11. tajio

    Member tajio GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    403
    Location:
    Northern Ireland, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All you have to do is tell us the brand of the PSU, wattage, and couple of other things.

    It's not that hard.
     
  12. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Based on the lack of information, I'll make the following assumptions:
    The old PSU was brandless, less than 450W (I would guess 250W), probably came with the case, and that this is an old computer.
    The new PSU is probably also brandless, 450W, and is probably more than enough for an old computer.
    If I am right, this is good, because it can probably only provide 400W of stable power (if it's brandless) which should be enough and therefor not make it likely to explode any time soon.

    To my knowledge, the things that can blow up PSUs: Incorrect voltage (some have a voltage switch on the back... flip it and it will blow up - I've done it myself), cheap/damaged/flakey/badly-fitted power cables (rarely causes problems, but I've seen it a couple times before in houses with pets), overloading the PSU (using a weak PSU in a powerful computer, or just a PSU that doesn't produce the wattage it claims - common in brandless PSUs), overheating the PSU (common in any cheap PSU, but also in cases without enough ventilation... also caused by parts wearing out or dust inside the PSU creating static fields), and power surges (lightning~). Power up/down cycles also wear out PSUs, so eventually they will all blow up, but this hasn't been a real issue for over a decade (I had a 15 year old computer that still worked - albeit with a replacement motherboard).
     
  13. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    We don't usually lock threads AJ, as they can help others.
     
  14. air2004

    Member air2004 Air

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,536
    Location:
    Anytown
    Country:
    United States
    I'm starting to think...... maybe some people just started computer school .....psu's dont normally blow up ( why am I responding to this ? ) Dude , if you have real questions , just ask
     

Share This Page