Will class 10 micro sdhc work with flash carts?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by famicon_don, Jul 5, 2011.

  1. famicon_don
    OP

    Newcomer famicon_don Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    I just wanted to know if class 10 micro sdhc cards will work with DSi flash carts? Would it be overkill to get a class 10 over a class 6? I really just want a fast quality micro sdhc that is capable of playing the DS castlevania games (especially Portrait of Ruin). Could anyone recommend one.
     
  2. serenade.63

    Member serenade.63 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    419
    Country:
    United States
    Class 6 plays all games at full speed, no need to shell out extra money for something you REALLY dont need
     
  3. jonthedit

    Member jonthedit GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,691
    Country:
    Bermuda
    I'd get a Class 10 anyway, I got a 8gb class 10 micro sdhc card for 20$... Newegg ftw!
     
  4. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
  5. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Class rating only pertains to write speed, not read speeds...

    Edit-
    [​IMG]'d
     
  6. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Class is referring to minimum writing speed under normal operating condition. It has NOTHING to do with reading speed.
     
  7. NDS-Gear

    Member NDS-Gear Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    It would work completely fine but definitely overkill unless nanosecond-gamesaves are of paramount importance [​IMG] From personal experience I've noticed a difference between Class 2 and 4 cards, but anything above 4 there is no noticable difference for me.
     
  8. Bree500

    Member Bree500 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United States
    i like to listen my music in fast forward mode. Its really cool when every artist sounds like the chipmonks. I currently use class 2, would class 10 fast forward my mp3 music?

    Just kidding.

    You guys are pros. I need to upgrade my card. Walmart only offers class 2, i have to shop somewhere else.
     
  9. codezer0

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,247
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    It does if you ever need to reformat, or move a lot of files in and out at once.

    The 8 gig in my DStwo currently is only a class... 4 I think. And boy am I paying for it waiting for the stuff I move back and forth from it. Save times are also shorter on a faster-class card I've noticed. I've got a 4gig class 10 in my digital camera, and it's near-instant for saving and loading images from. Problem is, it's only a full-size SD, so that won't help me with my problem.

    I'd like to get a 32-gig class 10, but I just don't have the moolah for it. It'd be nice if I could at least get a business going with reflowing ps3's and stuff or something similar. Just something where I can make some money on the side to help with stuff like that. [​IMG]

    From my expeirence, the higher-rating of class helps a LOT. Of course, YMMV.
     
  10. Bree500

    Member Bree500 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United States
    where do you buy a 32gb class 10? You can't get them at any major retail store, i have already looked.

    I went to wallmart, target, and fry's electronics. Target only had up to 4gb of micro sd card and class 4 was their highest. Walmart had up to 8gb and class 2 was their highest and you only get one option and thats a sandisk micro sd card. Fry's electronics had up to 16gb but its with manufactorers i am not too familiar with, Patriot and kingston.

    I wouldn't buy any memory cards from any online stores since they are most likely not real.

    So where can i buy a 32gb class 10 memory card from a major retail store?
     
  11. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    You don't need class 10 for flashcart. Sandisk Class 2 is plenty enough for you.

    Even if there is a 32GB Class 10, it'll be priced so high.
     
  12. Bree500

    Member Bree500 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United States
    where do i buy a 32gb any class micro sd card from a major retail store?
     
  13. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    you camera constantly writes to the card thus higher class would be better in that situation, however we are talking DS flashart's loading games, rarely do the carts even write to the card and almost always it just game saves, which would only shave very little time off with a higher class card
     
  14. exangel

    Member exangel executioner angel

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Country:
    United States
    Newegg, which is not a major retail storefront, but a major retail vendor online, has been carrying 32gb microsd's for months now, pretty much from the moment they came onto the market.

    and, on-topic, for people who move data to and from the microSD itself frequently, higher class IS worth it, especially if it is a difference of less than 10 dollars you're talking about. since i like to try out new or alternative operating software, i really like having the faster write speeds, as i usually give a quick format if i'm completely changing out the flash kit's OS. so i have to add all my roms again when i change out the "firmware" on a flash kit
     

Share This Page