Wiikey not working after softmod

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by huni, Jan 24, 2010.

Jan 24, 2010

Wiikey not working after softmod by huni at 1:29 PM (1,265 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. huni
    OP

    Newcomer huni Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi,

    I have a first gen wii with a wiikey 1 installed from day one and it has always been working very well. Until recently, I was booting all my backup games directly from the disc channel.

    In the last weeks, I decided to play aroud with the homebrew and softmod stuff and I ended up with USB Loader GX installed and a lot of games on a usb harddisk. All is good and it works great, but I just noticed that it somehow desactivated my wiikey. I mean, I can no longer put an a backup disc (that was working before) and launch it directly from the disc channel. It says it doesnt recognize the disc. I can launch my backups using Neo gamma loader, but it doesnt work directly like before.

    Is it normal? What can I do to make my wiikey work again? Is it because of some ios stuff I installed for the softmod or something?

    Thanks!
     
  2. vegemikee

    Member vegemikee GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    356
    Country:
    Australia
    check your priiloader hacks.
    they might be affect disc loading behaviour
     
  3. The Pink Gato

    Member The Pink Gato GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Candy Mountain with Mitch
    Country:
    United States
    There is a current bug with Priiloader 0.3b and a modchip, and it will freeze while loading or won't read the discs.

    Solution: Delete Priiloader and use Bootmii as boot2 for protection, or go to the original preloader.

    ~modmystuff~

    Edit: Read this: Link
     
  4. huni
    OP

    Newcomer huni Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    hi,

    sorry for being a little newbie here, but I don't really know what a preloader is. I did install bootmii as boot2, but I didnt install any preloader, so I dont think this is my problem. Or can it be it without me knowing?
     
  5. The Pink Gato

    Member The Pink Gato GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Candy Mountain with Mitch
    Country:
    United States
    Preloader is a menu the boots up before the Wii System Menu does for brick protection. Did you follow a softmod guide?

    You should always follow this guide here: xzxero's guide

    Does anything show up before the health screen does?

    ~modmystuff~

    EDIT: Follow the Modify 4.2 - Enable System Menu Hacks section in the spoiler if you didn't install Priiloader.
     
  6. Alerek

    Member Alerek GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    I was out of the scene for quite some time, had a wiikey i bought and installed back when SSBB came out, and recently jumped back into the whole deal...if you already have homebrew channel, just install cios, bootmii (boot2, then backup your wii [​IMG]) I had installed preloader at one point but it caused nothing but problems, I cant recall the program i had to use to get rid of it....regardless...After that, was able to do anything I wanted...at this point I'm just acting like the wiikey isnt in there [​IMG]

    Since then, I've tried to run SMB backup, but got tons of random DREs, flash drive solved that, and I probably wont burn any more discs for wii...using a usb drive is a lot easier, less time consuming, and the games seem to load faster [​IMG]
     
  7. urherenow

    Member urherenow GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,523
    Location:
    Japan
    Country:
    United States
    your problem might be from out of region games. Did you update to system menu 4.2? If you did then you have 2 choices:

    1) Install priiloader(or preloader... I was unaware of the disc reading problem but I may very well have it myself [​IMG] ) and use the new region free hack for it.

    2) Use DoP-IOS to instrall a non-stubbed IOS60 then install System menu 4.1.

    EDIT: Just read about the priiloader problem and I don't have that problem. It seems that .3 r47 and up had that problem so any older version should be just fine.
     
  8. razorback78

    Member razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    Philippines
    maybe a long time ago...recent releases are really good. even the OP imo requires priiloader hacks to allow region free wii games in his current situation.
     

Share This Page