WiiFlow won't recognize hard drive(s)

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Jm9760, Dec 17, 2011.

Dec 17, 2011
  1. Jm9760
    OP

    Member Jm9760 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
    I recently upgraded from 4.0U to 4.3U. The reason being that I had a very hit or miss setup. I was using USB Loader GX, and every time I wanted to play a game it would say "waiting for your slow usb device," and I would have to unplug and replug in my hard drive over and over and keep reloading USB Loader GX before it would decide to work. I upgraded to 4.3, installed cIOS 249 and 250, and installed WiiFlow. Now WiiFlow loads, but USB Loader just goes to a blank screen. Also WiiFlow won't recognize either of my hard drives. I have one that is formatted as WBFS, and one formatted as FAT, but it won't recognize either. I read somewhere that I have to install Herme's 222/223 cIOS, but I just get errors when I try. Any help here?

    EDIT: Also I forgot to mention I upgraded to the latest Homebrew Channel and installed BootMii during this process.

    EDIT 2: It also won't load retail discs...

    EDIT 3: Not only will the system menu not recognize retail discs, they won't even load from WiiFlow. It tells me that it's not a Wii or Gamecube game. My Wii is seriously screwed up. Is there any way to restore it to factory and start over?
     
  2. Jm9760
    OP

    Member Jm9760 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
  3. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    If you don't want to wait for someone with experience you can try remoding using modmii
     
  4. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Don't bump something unless it has been over 24 hours.

    As for your Wii, I don't see why you thought updating would help anything. I suggest you completely remod your Wii with ModMii (link in my sig). You don't have to remove anything. If your HDD isn't FAT32, it should be, so format it if Cfg (which I recommend) or WiiFlow still doesn't detect it after the softmod.
     
  5. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    if you had bootmii as boot2 there would be a way to get system menu 4.1 again
    and btw the magicly wroking thig is you got ios 58 in wii menu 4.3
     
  6. Jm9760
    OP

    Member Jm9760 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
    Well updating actually did help a lot. The first thing I did when I was still on 4.0 was update the homebrew channel. After the HBC update, the HBC would just go to a black screen. After I updated the system to 4.3, the HBC magically started working again.

    Is there anything like ModMii for Mac? I have access to a windows computer if I really need it, but it's very inconvenient. If I do use ModMii, what options should I choose? Do I act as if it is a virgin Wii?
     
  7. Jm9760
    OP

    Member Jm9760 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a reason I need to go back to 4.1? I did install bootmii to boot 2 and it was working fine, but after installing one of the IOS's (not sure which), it not longer boots into bootmii, so I'm not sure if it's still there.

    Also, is there some sort of diagnostic tool I can run that could help you guys figure this out?
     
  8. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    YES YES YES RUN SYSCHECK AND POST IT HERE!!

    edit:sorry for my impatientcy
     
  9. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    no modmii only runs on windows

    you could use virtualbox to run eg XP on your Mac
    comes in handy from time to time
     
  10. Jm9760
    OP

    Member Jm9760 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
    Ok I'm running syscheck now. If I could fix things without having to redo the entire thing that would be great. Thanks for all the help so far. I will post the result in a minute.


     
  11. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
     
  12. Jm9760
    OP

    Member Jm9760 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
    Ok here is the proper sysCheck. I had to use DOP-Mii because both versions of sysCheck froze on IOS 247.

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  13. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Two things that stand out are that your cIOS setup is REALLY screwed up and you don't have bootmii as IOS (can't say about boot2).

    Let me take a look at SysCheck's source code and see if I can make a version that skips 247 and 248 so we can get a better idea of what you have installed.
     
  14. Jm9760
    OP

    Member Jm9760 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I've had this Wii since launch day, and I've installed countless things since softmodding began, so I can imagine it's incredibly screwed up. I do have bootmii installed as boot2. I also sent you a pm about possibly talking on AIM or something, but if you don't want to that's fine. I really appreciate the help.
     
  15. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Replace the beta 14 SysCheck boot.dol with this one and try it again:
    http://www.mediafire.com/?5zwirsyqxrlr12x

    It should report both 247 and 248 as stubs (even though they aren't) and continue the process.
     
  16. Jm9760
    OP

    Member Jm9760 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks a lot. Here's the result:

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  17. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Lol, that is one f**ked up cIOS setup. Besides 236 and 254, you should only have these installed in 200+
    202[60]v5.1 rodries mod
    222[38]v4
    223[38+37]v4
    224[57]v5.1 rodries mod
    249[56] d2x v7
    250[57] d2x v7

    Install the correct setup from ModMii and see if Cfg or WiiFlow works.
     
  18. Jm9760
    OP

    Member Jm9760 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
    Ok so I ran ModMii, went through the wizard, and installed everything it wanted. Retail discs still won't load, and WiiFlow and Configurable both still won't recognize hard drives. This is what my sysCheck looks like now.

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     

Share This Page