Hacking Wii Wad install error

DAZA

Shaun's Mum
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2002
Messages
346
Trophies
2
XP
2,503
Hi, I installed modmii after i was advised to run pimp my wii and it went tits up. 99% of it works good, the only issue i had is when i try and install wad files. it comes up with the error file 1029 in wad manager via HBC (the program is on the SD card), now i have read a lot of comments from other forums asking to delete a certain cios. it concerns me that if i do this im going to be back at square 1.


Now i know this is the place to ask and i get the right response, so.... what steps do i have to take and programs do i have to use to sort this issue out and let me install wad files ok on the wii.

any advice on this i would be greatful and i know there are others with this same issue so im sure they would be aswell!

BTW my wii is 3.2E if thats any help


Thanks in advance
 

KiiNG

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2009
Messages
180
Trophies
0
XP
26
Country
United States
If you're trying to use cIOS249 r19/20 to install the wads, it wont work (it'll throw the 1029 error) unless 249's base is IOS38.
 

Evil-Popeye

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 3, 2010
Messages
74
Trophies
0
XP
7
Country
New Zealand
EDIT: nevermind, Xflak beat me this time...
frown.gif
 

DAZA

Shaun's Mum
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2002
Messages
346
Trophies
2
XP
2,503
ok so your suggesting i use wad manager 1.7b to overcome this issue? im not sure what cIOS im using, i just went through the standard modmii install


Update: seems to work, it extracted without error, it does ask which cIOS to use during install and NAND, i selected default... and it unzipped ok, although the WAD doesnt work its progress. thanks for the advice its put my mind at rest not having to remove any files or brick my wii lol
 

TheShadowRunner

I'm like you, I have no name.
Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
727
Trophies
1
XP
1,103
Country
United States
If you want to keep using Wad Manager 1.5, install the cIOS using base 38.
If you want to use another base IOS (56,57, etc..), you NEED Wad Manager 1.7.
Hope it's clearer.
 

DAZA

Shaun's Mum
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2002
Messages
346
Trophies
2
XP
2,503
Thanks shadowrunner but the advice from XFlak worked, im using wad manager 1.7b without problem, all seems to be working and extracting fine
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    and idk if something will happen to my ps3 if i connect it to wifi with hen activated
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I remember when the Atari 2600 was new and exciting lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    It could get banned from PSN but you can change your ID I think?
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    also gonna install twilight menu in my r4 flashcard
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    One thing that just occurred to me.... The sound on the 2600 sucked less back then the harsh sound we hear now is from infinitely better speakers we have now, back when the 2600 was new speakers produced a almost muffled sound, like CRTs made old graphics look slightly better.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I wonder if I could recommend that to some emulation devs that perhaps the sound could use some smoothing out to simulate those old TVs
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I think a few of the early systems could benefit from that, at least up to the 8 bit generation, by the 16 bit generation I think TVs had gotten a lot better in almost every way
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    i dont have an sd card adapter but I have an usb sd card adapter
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Old people games
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    its not the one that comes with the r4
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    doesnt work (my flashcard is from r4isdhc.com)
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    might install ysmenu first
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Try Wood firmware
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    For your R4
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    It's old but it's the best firmware out for DS stuff
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    it says it only works for the original R4, R4i Gold (r4ids.cn), R4iDSN (r4idsn.com) and Acekard R.P.G.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    nvm it does support mine
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    but why choose it over ysmenu @Psionic Roshambo?
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    bc im stupid?
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    yea ik im stupid
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    good night
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Just give it a try, but honestly if you have a 3DS you can play DS games without a card just off the internal SD card
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Slightly slower loading but a bit more convenient
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Slightly slower loading but a bit more convenient