Wii U HD-cable only?

Discussion in 'Wii U - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by ThommyTheBoy, Nov 17, 2012.

Nov 17, 2012

Wii U HD-cable only? by ThommyTheBoy at 8:12 AM (6,321 Views / 0 Likes) 55 replies

  1. ThommyTheBoy
    OP

    Member ThommyTheBoy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    I don't even know! D:
    Country:
    Sweden
    Greetings everyone,
    I remember seeing somewhere that the WiiU will come with a HD-cable to plug into your TV.
    HOWEVER, my TV doesn't HAVE a port for that kind of cable. Does that mean I'll have to buy a new TV, or can I play it anyway but just on the Upad?

    Depending on the answer I may have to cancel my plans of buying it early, because I don't have enough money for BOTH a new TV and a WiiU...

    Thanks in advance,
    Thommy
     


  2. VampireLordAlucard

    Member VampireLordAlucard GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Country:
    United States
    The Wii U only comes with an HDMI cable. It does have a slot for a component/composite cable though, so worst case you can buy one of those. Not sure if it's the same cable the Wii uses, if so, that'd be pretty sweet.

    I've heard that not all games allow playing solely on the Gamepad, so I'd guess you have to have a TV for some stuff.
     
  3. Luckkill4u

    Member Luckkill4u SOLDIER

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    728
    Location:
    Far far away!
    Country:
    Canada
    component/composite is like VHS. DEAD
     
  4. ThommyTheBoy
    OP

    Member ThommyTheBoy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    I don't even know! D:
    Country:
    Sweden
    I'm pretty sure not all games work on the Upad only yeah. But I hope most of them do.
    In that case I DO indeed hope that its the same cables.
    Thank you very much VLAlucard!
     
  5. VampireLordAlucard

    Member VampireLordAlucard GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Country:
    United States
    ..unless you have an SD TV, and using HDMI isn't an option.

    Here's a picture of the back of a Wii U. The "video out" next to HDMI is where you'd plug in the component/composite cable. Does anyone know if it's the same as the Wii?
    [​IMG]
     
  6. rizzod

    Member rizzod Not a New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    757
    Country:
    Australia
    yes you can plug a component AND Composite cable.
     
  7. Devin

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, it's the same one the Wii uses.
     
  8. Dialexio

    Member Dialexio GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,546
    Country:
    United States
    It sounds like it'll use the same cable, according to this page.
     
  9. 431unknown

    Member 431unknown Greatness Awaits

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,055
    Country:
    United States
  10. ThommyTheBoy
    OP

    Member ThommyTheBoy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    I don't even know! D:
    Country:
    Sweden
    So I wont even have to buy any new cables? sweet :D
    Thanks for the info everyone! I can now happily buy myself a WiiU when its released here in europe!
     
  11. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,390
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    I hope it will accept both at the same time :D
    PS3 added the possibility on later firmware to connect both at the same time, allowing Audio output to be broadcasted to TV through HDMI and to any Audio device through Component/Composite cable.
    I'm using my PC's speakers which are better quality than the low speaker from the TV, and converting Stereo to 5.1 by software at the same time, so it would be great to have both simultaneously :)

    It's not a real 5.1, but it's better than plain stereo from TV speakers.
     
  12. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,292
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    What about using HDMI for video and the component/composite's white and red for a speaker system (like how the PS3 can do it)? (Let's be honest, who would want to use TV speakers over a powerful subwoofer?)
     
  13. DCG

    Member DCG GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Location:
    Schiedam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    :o
    YOU ARE A GENIUS!!!!!!!
    My laptop has HDMI-in. So I can play the U on my alienware m17x, it also has 5.1 audio ports and my headset is also 5.1 (Roccat Kave 5.1).
    I only don't know if audio is taken in trough the HDMI-in aswell, but if it is I can play in 5.1 :hrth:
     
  14. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,292
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    I hope I'm not SOL.
     
  15. HorreC

    Newcomer HorreC Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    United States
    I just tried it for the thread, and mine did not allow sound out thru the regualr nintendo connector when hdmi was hooked up, but it could be in settings, letting the tablet charge for a while before I really start working with it
     
  16. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,292
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Ah crap, that's what I was afraid of.
     
  17. HorreC

    Newcomer HorreC Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    United States
    I will tell you the sound from the tablet is pretty impressive. Havent tried the head phones yet on it, got to grab my beats and see what we get!!
     
  18. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,292
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    I don't find that reassuring TBH, I want to be able to use HDMI and the component's red and white through my speaker system. Is it REALLY that hard to implement. If the PS3 can do it, why not the Wii U?
     
  19. HorreC

    Newcomer HorreC Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    United States
    Like I said MIGHT be in settings I just turned it on and let it run till I got sound in the tv speakers and tried the stereo and nothing. But there are a ton of settings I havent touched yet.
     
  20. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,292
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    According to this, it's possible http://www.gamefaqs.com/boards/631516-wii-u/64612025?page=1

    If not, what the hell am I supposed to do? My HDTV has a very limited no. of available inputs (and TV speakers sound like garbage for gaming.)
     

Share This Page