Wii Shop Channel Error

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by mostpsp, May 5, 2013.

  1. mostpsp
    OP

    mostpsp Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    May 4, 2013
    United States
    Been having a problem with my Wii. When I try to load the Wii Shop Channel it goes to a black screen and then says "An error has occurred. Eject the disc and turn the console off." It is 4.3U, but was having this issue before I updated it from 4.1. I have tried installing the Wii U transfer tool WAD but it too goes to a black screen. I have probably $100 in VC games I want to transfer but cannot due to this error.

    I've most recently tried reformatting the Wii and reinstalling everything with ModMii. Still not able to get it to work. There is no error code either. Just a black screen for ~10 seconds and then the error message telling me to eject the disc and turn off the system.

    Does anyone have any thoughts?

    Edit: Heading to bed, I'll try any suggestions first thing in the morning.
     
  2. mauifrog

    mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Member
    1,585
    90
    Jan 21, 2010
    United States
    Can you play wii games?
     
  3. mostpsp
    OP

    mostpsp Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    May 4, 2013
    United States
    A few years ago the disc drive broke with smash bros inside. Had to unscrew the case to get the game out, everything else works. It has played games off usbloader etc in the past. It gets info from the weather channel too, it just won't load the shop channel.
     
  4. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    The Real Jdbye is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    12,329
    5,340
    Mar 17, 2010
    Norway
    Alola
    The Wii U transfer tool WAD requires IOS62, make sure you have that installed.
    Also, if you updated the System Menu to 4.3 by unofficial means, you may not have the IOS required for the shop channel to function. Can't remember offhand which one that is.
     
  5. SoraK05

    SoraK05 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    155
    13
    Aug 24, 2007
    Kenya
    Have you put the right IOS' (not stubs) and the latest shopping channel?
    Channels should load when it has the latest version (in the case of the shopping channel) and the IOS' for what channels use.
     
  6. mostpsp
    OP

    mostpsp Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    May 4, 2013
    United States
    I'll double check, but they should all be installed. I'll try running a syscheck and see what it says. I'll post again in an hour or two with the list.
     
  7. scooby74029

    scooby74029 "fake coder"

    Member
    1,174
    76
    May 7, 2010
    United States
    oklahoma, USA
    shop channel ios is 61 latest rev
     
  8. mostpsp
    OP

    mostpsp Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    May 4, 2013
    United States
    I just ran a syscheck, it uploaded it but the website was not accessible, not sure how to get the data off the Wii. It said I had 4 stubs, but they didn't look like important ones. I'll type it out by hand if it would be helpful?
     
  9. mauifrog

    mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Member
    1,585
    90
    Jan 21, 2010
    United States
    Can you currently load wii games? From usb? wiiware? etc. If games/wiiware are not working I would say your dvd drive is the problem.
     
  10. mostpsp
    OP

    mostpsp Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    May 4, 2013
    United States
    Yeah, games load off usb just fine. WiiWare installed off wads also work. Would the DVD drive being broken actually cause it to not load the shop channel?
     
  11. scooby74029

    scooby74029 "fake coder"

    Member
    1,174
    76
    May 7, 2010
    United States
    oklahoma, USA
    mauifrog cam confirm this but i think so
     
  12. mauifrog

    mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Member
    1,585
    90
    Jan 21, 2010
    United States
    If the dvd drive is broken, wii channels, games, wiiware do not load. But since your playing games, it does not sound like your issue. But that is the error the shop channel and others would give if the drive was causing an issue.
     
  13. mostpsp
    OP

    mostpsp Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    May 4, 2013
    United States
    Well, I actually have the drive unplugged from the Wii unit... I'll plug it back in and see! I had no idea that would cause stuff to not load. Going to try it right now!
     
  14. mostpsp
    OP

    mostpsp Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    May 4, 2013
    United States
    WOW! OMG IT'S WORKING. I'll update once I get the transfer to work!!!!
     
  15. mostpsp
    OP

    mostpsp Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    May 4, 2013
    United States
    Annnnnd, it's complete. System transfer finished! Thank you so much guys. Solution was, disc drive needed to be plugged back in. Thank you thank you thank you!