wii not playing gamecube games

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by patoons, Jan 20, 2010.

Jan 20, 2010

wii not playing gamecube games by patoons at 4:48 PM (1,644 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. patoons
    OP

    Newcomer patoons Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    i tried melee, sunshine and Mario kart dd. I am getting two errors. first, the wii gets an error. i don't even have to try and launch it to get the error, as soon as the disc is in the drive, the error message comes up, and i have to remove the disc and power down the console.
    second error is the wii doesn't give me the error, but I get no gamecube disc icon in the disc channel, if I go to the disc channel, it says cannot be read.

    preloader settings all region free are disabled, and the gamecube games are retail.

    my wii is soft modded 4.2u cios249 rev14.
     
  2. Eon-Rider

    Member Eon-Rider GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,021
    Country:
    Australia
    You need to be more specific. Are these games genuine or backups? Have you installed cMIOS?
     
  3. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    [​IMG]

    I'd try to re-install the MIOS
    get it with NUSD
     
  4. Eon-Rider

    Member Eon-Rider GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,021
    Country:
    Australia
    I swear that wasn't there when I posted. =\
     
  5. patoons
    OP

    Newcomer patoons Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    I don't have mios, nusd or cmios. can you guys explain what they are for and what they do? is there a risk of bricking if I install these?
     
  6. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    google nus downloader, download it, run the program, click the database button and search for MIOS, get v10 (the most recent one), make sure pack wad is checked, then click download.

    then copy the new wad file to your sd card under the WAD folder, then install using wad manager
     
  7. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    you don't have an mios at all on your system? It's kind of required for Gamecube games. Think of it as being something like a compatiblity layer, something that runs the Wii in Gamecube mode.
     
  8. cobleman

    Member cobleman GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    The only time i couldnt load retail GC is when i had cioscorp installed. I dont suppose you have it installed on your Wii?
    I think its mainly the system menu ios that causes the problem unless thats origanal you wont play retail GC
     
  9. patoons
    OP

    Newcomer patoons Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    just tried that, same problem.
     
  10. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,801
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Mine has the same problem >.< My only fix for it was being happy I didn't sell my Gamecube.
    Yeah that wasn't much help, but I am glad someone posted this.
     
  11. zeedds

    Member zeedds GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    United States
    my wii was bad at playin retail GC games from when it was new.had to send it to nintendo twice under warranty to get it fixed.gave disc read errors and sound and music stuttered. the sound issue is fixed but it still cant read some scratched games that my gamecube can read. maybe the wii has dual lasers, one fer wii and one fer gamecube. if thats the case, yer gamecube laser may have died.
     
  12. atoddvr6

    Newcomer atoddvr6 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Is there any way to backup/install GC games onto an external hard drive just like you can with wii games through usb loader gx or other loader? [​IMG]
     
  13. ToneEQ

    Member ToneEQ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    South Wales
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No.
     
  14. atoddvr6

    Newcomer atoddvr6 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Ok. Is there any way to back them up period? For example, using a computer?
     
  15. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    DID YOU SEARCH? The answer is superdump.
     
  16. atoddvr6

    Newcomer atoddvr6 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the help. Found superdump. Won't install. I renamed the dol to boot.dol and it just goes to a black screen and freezes. My question is, can GC games be loaded (somehow) onto a hard drive, and then can the wii play them from that hard drive by using a usb loader?
     
  17. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    I've answered that 1000 times. Search for it.

    Here's the answer:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     

Share This Page