Wii keeps freezing all the time...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Livin in a box, Sep 25, 2008.

Sep 25, 2008
  1. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, a message has been sent from my virus ridden computer . Fine. But ever time the blue light on my Wii comes on, the whole thing freezes. I can't get on any channels, see or read the message or get on the Wii Settings because of it freezing. Put simply, it can't be used. Can anyone tell me what I can do to fix it...?

    EDIT:
    I can get into the Wii by using Maintenance Mode. I forgot to mention before, I had recently taken the WC24 battery out. The time and date had reset, and that's when the problem occurred. My mum is having a right go at me about it, so I need some help ASAP...

    EDIT2:
    http://techforums.nintendo.com/nins/board/...thread.id=16684

    Read that. The message sent to me was a large message too, so that's it...DAMN.
     
  2. Helsionium

    Member Helsionium Alpha and Omega

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Location:
    Innsbruck, Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    So the problem seems to be WC24-related, doesn't it? Can you turn WC24 off entirely using the maintenance mode (I guess not, as maintenance mode does not affect the settings menu at all).

    Have you replaced the image of the Photo Channel using the built-in feature? If so, something might have gone wrong and your Wii may be semi-banner-bricked (that particular banner does not show when using maintenance mode!)
     
  3. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    WC24 can't be turned off by using Maintenance Mode.
    The image on the Photo Channelis fine...It's been there for weeks.
     
  4. Helsionium

    Member Helsionium Alpha and Omega

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Location:
    Innsbruck, Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    Sorry I said something stupid, WC24 is actually turned off while in maintenance mode. The Photo Channel banner doesn't matter, since the problem is clearly with WC24. So you can't get in the settings menu, but can you boot games and channels? And do they work normally?
     
  5. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In M Mode, I can get into the Settings fine, it's just that I can't get onto WC24 settings. I've not tried booting any channels, but I know hat some work because i've tried before.
     
  6. Helsionium

    Member Helsionium Alpha and Omega

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Location:
    Innsbruck, Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    Have you tried formatting?
     
  7. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No...I'm not mad...Surely...Oh damn. I suppose I wouldn't really mind formatting, because I do have everything backed up on an SD Card...But I want to see if there's another solution first.
     
  8. jinxvorheeze

    Member jinxvorheeze GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    572
    Country:
    United States
    Can you boot the Homebrew Channel or the Twilight hack while in maintenance mode?
     
  9. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, the Homebrew Channel boots fine.
     
  10. nico445

    Member nico445 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    my house.
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Just Make backups from your save. and Format your wii. It Just deletes everything and you have a clean wii. Just copy your saves back and done [​IMG]
     
  11. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    *sigh*
    After a long look on Google, I have realised that this is what i'm going to have to do. Nintendo really should sort this out; it's really not very good. I'll use the Save Extractor to extract, but the Save Installer never works; it just gives me a 'ret=-1' error every time. Ah well, i'm going to have to do that.

    Thanks everyone for their help...
     
  12. Zeek03

    Member Zeek03 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    336
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    How did you get a "Bad message"? How is that possible? And who sent you it? Was it from an E-mail or Another Wii?
     
  13. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
  14. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    How can you access the save extractor? Through TP Hack?

    It's interesting stuff, maybe someone can make a patch for the system menu so that it boots without WC24.

    Or

    Anyregion changer can be modified so that it can disable the WC24,
    see here : http://www.wiibrew.org/wiki//shared2/sys/SYSCONF
    wc24 settings are in that config file. You can ask tona at wiibrew forums. It could be that he've already done something to change that.
     

Share This Page