Wii is FULLY bricked!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Robz8, Dec 11, 2012.

Dec 11, 2012

Wii is FULLY bricked! by Robz8 at 6:08 AM (2,887 Views / 0 Likes) 34 replies

  1. Robz8
    OP

    Member Robz8 Coolest of the Temp

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,792
    Country:
    United States
    I installed 2.2U as the system menu and was reinstalling IOS20 with the stub version.
    I have Priiloader installed and BootMii as IOS.
    I turn on the wii with really nothing! No black screen, no message, no everything!
    Even when powering on and holding reset to get to the priiloader menu, still nothing.
    HEEEEEEEEELLLLLLLLLLP!
     


  2. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    If you don't know what you're doing then you should use Modmii.

    Somehow I get the feeling you didn't use Modmii.
     
    air2004 likes this.
  3. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    First off, why were you installing a stub...?
     
  4. BlackWizzard17

    Member BlackWizzard17 Don't worry Captin we'll buff out those scratches.

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    977
    Location:
    E-Arth
    Country:
    United States
    Every time i install a theme menu my priiloader goes away so before i turn of my wii i re-install priiloader. Thats probably what happen to you
     
  5. Amber Lamps

    Banned Amber Lamps Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    386
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Is it really bricked? Mine seems to work just fine when I power it on.

    Oh you meant youurrrrr Wii ok then.
     
    nukeboy95 likes this.
  6. Giggtysword344

    Member Giggtysword344 I want some Scum Nyums

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Skyloft
    Country:
    United States
    What was the point of even making that post?
     
  7. Lucifer666

    Member Lucifer666 all the world needs is me

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    The Fourth Dimension
    Country:
    Antarctica
    And folks, this is why if you've got a modded Wii, always make sure you have BootMii installed as Boot2.
    Did you make a NAND backup? (Even if you did, not sure how we'd restore it, but still worth checking)
     
  8. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,350
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    if you didn't back up your nand and can't restore it with bootmii than your fucked
     
  9. boomario

    Member boomario Nothing to say here.

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    392
    Country:
    Brazil
    If you want something to keep your door open/close, you can use now your wii :P
    Just kidding, but i think its better you think in a new wii or sell it for someone to use separated parts (drive disc, case...)
     
  10. yusuo

    Member yusuo GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,196
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    DeadlyFoez will prob be able to fix it, he seems to be pretty good with that type of thing
     
  11. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,897
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Why would you install Sysmenu 2.2? (taking it that you had a Wii with a Sysmenu higher then 3.0...)
    And why would you install a stub IOS in one of the lower IOS slots?

    I may not know much about the Wii hacking scene but I know that messing with the lower IOSses is very very bad ;p
     
  12. shortz1994

    Member shortz1994 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,341
    Country:
    United States
    well your screwed, all you have is a door stop/paper weight.
    your priiloader is gone. you over wrote it when replacing the system menu. an i don't think deadly foez will be much help,(bootmii as ios, not @boot2.).
    though he does have some magic he might be able to do.
    why did you do this if you didn't know what you were doing. an why all the way down to 2.2.. it's not like there is a benefit to that menu.
    meaning if you have bootmii at ios, then there is no way to play burned disc/dvd's... disc drive is to new.
     
  13. pwsincd

    Member pwsincd Garage Flower

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,974
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Installing 2.2U wtf , you mean 4.2 ? either way i thought installing a new SM will kill priiloader , and if im right then your pretty well screwed , are you sure it was Bootmii as IOS and not Boot2 , check the dvd lights when you power on , do they blink twice ??
     
  14. shortz1994

    Member shortz1994 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,341
    Country:
    United States
    you wouldn't have to do all of that if you used a csm file an not a wad. wad themes are dangerous.
     
  15. ground

    Member ground GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    906
    Country:
    Netherlands
    but newer wii's cant install bootmii as boot 2.

    ot:
    Your wii is bricked because you installed a system menu (which replaced priiloader) and installed a empty IOS (so system meny can't run).
    You can try if savemiifrii can install updates for you.

    and do you have a modchip? and which exploit did you use? (if you are able to launch the games directly and the exploit save file is still present, you can install everything again)
     
  16. The Real Jdbye

    Member The Real Jdbye D:

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8,580
    Location:
    Doing your mom
    Country:
    Norway
    If you have your Wii keys (A BootMii backup saves these keys to SD), DeadlyFoez can flash a new NAND with Infectus.
     
  17. Robz8
    OP

    Member Robz8 Coolest of the Temp

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,792
    Country:
    United States
    I mean 2.2U! I didn't know installing a stub ios could delete priiloader!
    It blinks once as usual.
     
  18. air2004

    Member air2004 Air

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,528
    Location:
    Anytown
    Country:
    United States
    That is a troll
     
  19. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,730
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    You can't ALWAYS install BootMii on Boot2 - that's an option only on the older systems. Even if you could, PriiLoader and/or BootMii IOS is usually sufficient as long as you have a NAND backup.
     
  20. Maxternal

    Member Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    You, my friend, are the proud owner of a 7.5lb plastic brick.
    1. downgrading some Wii's (even doing it the right way) is an instant brick.
    2. installing a system menu overwrites priiloader and you didn't have a boot2 bootmii
    3. You have a stub IOS for your system menu version. Even is you did have priiloader, it runs on the same IOS as the system menu. NOTHING (not even priiloader) can run on a stub IOS.

    Look at the bright side ... you bricked it just about a week after the Wii was considered obsolete from a retail standpoint anyhow. You could always use it as an excuse to get a Wii U. :P
     
    pwsincd and steveroo like this.

Share This Page