Wii HD

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by jazvdb, Oct 11, 2009.

Oct 11, 2009

Wii HD by jazvdb at 5:49 PM (1,186 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. jazvdb
    OP

    Member jazvdb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Location:
    In front of computer...
    Country:
    United States
    Could be possible for the Wii to go HD by just having an external thing?

    Like enhancing the Wiimote with the Motion+?
     
  2. roku93

    Member roku93 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    Finland
    Country:
    Finland
    Nope. Not the same thing at all.
     
  3. jazvdb
    OP

    Member jazvdb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Location:
    In front of computer...
    Country:
    United States
    So it we will never have Wii HD with our Wii right now?
    [​IMG]
     
  4. roku93

    Member roku93 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    Finland
    Country:
    Finland
    Never, ever. Simply not possible. And not just "backuploadingizimpossiblah"-impossible but really impossible.
     
  5. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,941
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    A HD wii would require at least a better graphics card
     
  6. dartdude6

    Member dartdude6 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    United States
    The closest you can get to playing Wii in HD is playing a Wii game in Dolphin at a HD resolution, but you also need a very powerful PC to get games running well.
     
  7. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    i've got my wii runing in almost HD with a component to hd converter it's running off a hdmi cable and it looks way clearer and crisper than the component could ever hope to achieve.
     
  8. dippindivin

    Newcomer dippindivin Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    United States
    If you have a decent HD TV, it will up convert the signal to HD. But it wont look much better. The video processing power of the wii is laughable.
     
  9. ChuckBartowski

    Member ChuckBartowski GBATemp Nerd Herd Specialist

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    917
    Location:
    Burbank, CA
    Country:
    United States
    a tv might upconvert the signal, but even if you managed to hook it up through hdmi, the most the wii wil ever put out is 480p
     
  10. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    read my damn post before you post idiot comments trollzilla! i said it looks way clearer and crisper than the component could ever hope to achieve. i've even done a comparison myself by swapping the component back it a lot more clearer running it off the hdmi cable which is to be expected.
     
  11. dippindivin

    Newcomer dippindivin Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    United States
    huh? I didn't say anything about your HDMI or component jibber jabber. I was just making a statement. Glad it looks clearer for you.
     

Share This Page