wii expanding memory

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by mcjones92, Jan 11, 2009.

Jan 11, 2009

wii expanding memory by mcjones92 at 4:21 AM (1,122 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. mcjones92
    OP

    Member mcjones92 Forest Fam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    In the ghetto
    Country:
    United States
    If I am not mistaken, Nintendo will be updating the Wii fairly soon to allow channels to be booted from the SD card. What if Nintendo makes the update block hacks and mods also? Like most people will want to update their Wii so they can have more space, so wouldn't that be smart of them?
     
  2. Green0scar

    Member Green0scar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    259
    Country:
    Canada
    Their will always be work arounds with the nintendos lazy attempts to stop piracy.
     
  3. mcjones92
    OP

    Member mcjones92 Forest Fam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    In the ghetto
    Country:
    United States
    Yea, I never thought of that.
     
  4. pelago

    Member pelago Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    879
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Although I agree in principle that the hacking community in general will work around Nintendo blocks, I note that there has not yet been a version of System Menu 3.4 released that is safer for people with hacked Wiis (i.e. the System Menu that increases the speed of copying from SD card to internal memory).
     
  5. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    I heard about an update to download channels directly to your SD in the shop, not to load directly from SD
     
  6. CJLopez

    Newcomer CJLopez Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    Mexico
    You people are getting the news quite wrong

    They said that the next firmware update would just download content (in this case channels) directly to your sdcard if there's not enough space on your Wii

    They never mentioned anything about loading channels from the SDCard

    It would be pretty awesome, but they didn't said anything about it
     

Share This Page