Wii #1156 - Rygar: The Battle of Argus (USA)

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Chanser, Jan 31, 2009.

Jan 31, 2009
  1. Chanser
    OP

    Member Chanser :o

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,648
    Country:
    Macau
    ^^wiirelease-1818^^
     


  2. Jei

    Member Jei Translator and romhacker wannabe

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    864
    Location:
    Zillions of pixels far away~
    Country:
    Brazil
    Yay for Rygar sequel! I enjoyed the Ps2 one~
     
  3. Joey Ravn

    Member Joey Ravn F*** you, Nintendo!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,337
    Country:
    Spain
    Technicall, it's not a sequel, it's a port. AFAIK, because I've never heard of this game till now xD Here's a review, it doesn't look too bad:

     
  4. Goshogun1

    Member Goshogun1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    471
    Country:
    United States
    I played a bit of the import, and it seemed fun enough. I kind of wondered why it seemed so similar to the PS2 version, only with some guy with spiky white hair. I guess its a port with a couple of changes.
     
  5. Legobot

    Member Legobot GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    Wherever the wind takes me
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    looks like a devil may cry clone
     
  6. Ergo

    Member Ergo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    614
    Country:
    United States
    It's a direct port of the PS2 rev with some cosmetic tweaks and a new mode where you swing the Wiimote as if it's the Disc Armor--I played through the import and if you played it on PS2 there's really nothing new here (but it's still a lot of fun, if a bit dated).
     
  7. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    NO wide screen....??? [​IMG] 2009 people c'mon
     
  8. Shinigami Kiba

    Member Shinigami Kiba GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    606
    Country:
    Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
    I never got around to getting the PS2 version, all I had was a rip at one point to check out what the game was like but never got to getting the full game so this is great.
    Hope it works on my Wii
     
  9. A Divine Unicorn

    Newcomer A Divine Unicorn Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    more along the lines of being called a God of War clone.

    the catch?

    this came out before. so God of War just stole the concept of gameplay and improved upon it with better graphics, control and story.

    kwityerbitchen
     
  10. skydoune

    Newcomer skydoune Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Quebec City
    Country:
    Canada
    I thought of maybe get that game until I saw your post, I'll stick with the ps2 version.
     
  11. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, it's annoying. Support for widescreen (and progressive scan) aren't required for Wii games. Unlike 360/PS3.
     
  12. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,502
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
    I don't care about widescreen. Awesome game. Guess what ? It works great with Wiigator 0.3g!!!! [​IMG]
     
  13. Lazycus

    Member Lazycus Rotten

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    871
    Country:
    United States
    I still enjoy the old arcade original. Is it hidden or playable in this game?
     
  14. Shinigami Kiba

    Member Shinigami Kiba GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    606
    Country:
    Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
    Works

    Got this release, brickblocked and coverted it to PAL

    My Wii Specs:
    3.2E
    WiiKey 1.9s
    cIOS36 rev7
    IOS38
    not sure if I have IOS37 tho

    Rygar doesn't boot from the the Disc Channel but it works with Gamma Loader/Gecko OS 1.07b
     
  15. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yay a 5 year old PS2 game! Well at least this one is better than the DDI PS2 ports, one of those games that has probably not aged too well.

    To be honest I've lost interest in this now, maybe when there is nothing else to play but I'm still busy catching up with DS games and then in a week or so we've got some big Wii titles to play.
     
  16. Arm73

    Member Arm73 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,025
    Location:
    Zurich
    Country:
    Italy
    To be honest, I have been been playing the original Rygar in the arcade and at home on my humble ZX Spectrum 20+ years ago ( and more recently on ZXDS ) and I always liked that game.
    So naturally I was a little jealous when the game came out on PS2 but not on my console of choice at the time ( which was a Nintendo of course, the GC ).
    That and Maximo : Ghost to glory I think it was called, and maybe Contra 3D.
    Anyway it feels a little like a revenge now to be able to play this game on my Nintendo Wii.
    And I hope they bring out the rest as well, I don't care they are old as long as they play right.
    The only thing that lets me down is the lack of wide screen support, that is really annoying, but I hope it runs at least at 480p, otherwise I'd get really angry.......
     
  17. cracker

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,133
    Country:
    United States
    Haven't played the Wii version yet but I played a while of the PS2 game and it was pretty damn sweet.

    @Arm73:
    The arcade and similar ports were OK but the NES game was way better IMO. I have played through the game at least 10x and every now and then have to play it again. [​IMG]
     
  18. Arm73

    Member Arm73 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,025
    Location:
    Zurich
    Country:
    Italy
    @ cracker

    Thanks, I'll give it a try.
    I have the nes version here somewhere, and a cool joystick connected to my PC and a good nes emulator.
    It'll kill some time while I burn the Wii version.......[​IMG]
     
  19. Vater Unser

    Member Vater Unser GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,184
    Location:
    Pen Island
    Country:
    Germany
    Is this game actually worth playing?
    I was looking forward to this, but the average rating of 54% on gamerankings can't be ignored. [​IMG]
     
  20. nIxx

    Member nIxx GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,459
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Yes it´s okay but try it out and you will see if you like it.
    I mean you can get it for free [​IMG]
     

Share This Page