Hacking WIA Vs Rom

WIA vs Roms


  • Total voters
    26

Ericss

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
464
Trophies
0
XP
365
Country
United States
3ds is portable (if you have multiple 3DS, you can use the same mSD containing your ROMs in all of them), doesn't need installation, and the install of each cia requires you to have space of at least twice its size (one for the cia and other for the install). The same applies to 3ds saves: they're easy to manage portable files and don't have to be exported or installed with SDF.

Also, I've heard that installing too many cias slows down the loading of the home menu. Can anyone confirm if this true?
 

kheldar

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2014
Messages
512
Trophies
0
XP
381
Country
3ds is portable (you can use the same SD containing them on multiple consoles), doesn't need installation, and the install of each cia requires you to have space of at least twice its size (one for the cia and other for the install). The same applies to 3ds saves: they're easy to manage portable files and don't have to be exported or installed with SDF.

Also, I've heard that installing too many cias slows down the loading of the home menu. Can anyone confirm if this true?

Can't you remove the installation file after installing? I heard you can do that.
 

Ericss

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
464
Trophies
0
XP
365
Country
United States
Can't you remove the installation file after installing? I heard you can do that.
Yes you can. But it's not recommended if you access the eShop often, as that should uninstall your cias; leaving them in the SD makes it easy to quickly reinstall them. And even if you don't use the eShop, it could be a problem if you don't have enough room in your SD for twice the size of the game you're trying to install. A 4 GB game like Bravely Default will initially require 8 GB.
 
  • Like
Reactions: kheldar

Oswarlan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
172
Trophies
0
XP
1,742
Country
United States
Yes you can. But it's not recommended if you access the eShop often, as that should uninstall your cias; leaving them in the SD makes it easy to quickly reinstall them. And even if you don't use the eShop, it could be a problem if you don't have enough room in your SD for twice the size of the game you're trying to install. A 4 GB game like Bravely Default will initially require 8 GB.

This is untrue. I access the eshop frequently and my CIAs are not deleted.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Queno138

KidIce

Smart Ass
Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2005
Messages
967
Trophies
1
XP
1,956
Country
United States
Wait!! Does this mean we can install WiiWare now?!? I'm not really helping, am I?

On a more serious note... CIA's allow you to play w/ the GW ejected to save battery life. They seem to be safer right now to avoid bans. They allow you to split the payload of games you want to carry around between the two SD's (the one in the GW and the one in the 3DS proper).

That being said, I mostly only use .3DS/.3DZ files as there is less dicking around to be done and I own two 3DS's but only one GW cart. I prefer to be able to just swap the GW from one to the other taking its games w/ it than having to install duplicate CIA's on both.
 

nastys

ナースティス
Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2014
Messages
1,730
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Earth
XP
1,773
Country
Italy
I prefer CIA for Card2 games and either CIA or 3DS (depending on the space available on my SDs) for Card1 games.
That's because you cannot trim Card2 games but their CIA version is already trimmed.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: You know that here its a Sunday right?