Hacking Why in 2010 we still have Pal & Ntsc?

electrico

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Greece
Why companies who produce games and movies still have this old system in their products and they don't have one so the consumers around the world can enjoy the product.?

Ossot

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
True. And i'm no electrician here. But if all it takes is a software mod to say 'force' and it works on a different TV. There's no reason that the consoles and media players can't just allow you to select the output. Broadcast television, sure it needs to be localized still. But it's not like the players need different hardware based on regions. Just a different if-then switch.

Vattu

Trophies
XP
Country
we have pal/ntsc because the stupid companies haven't yet realized they've failed.

region-blocked games are easily patched for the wii, yes, but it's a bit harder for xbox360 (I've heard). Sony (of all) don't have region-locks on their games.

WiiPower

Trophies
XP
Country
Gambia, The
They are failing because they want to fail.

Prove me wrong, but then explain why in the 3rd millennium:
- we still have interlaced video modes(video production AND broadcast), while all current tv sets work digitally
- we still have ANYTHING with 25/50 Hz, while the tv sets work at multiples of 30 Hz, yes PAL LCD tvs work at 60 Hz too, but PAL HTDV is 25/50 Hz...(24 Hz is something else, but can be displayed properly with 120 Hz displays, but to be compatible to 24,25 and 30 Hz, you would need 600 Hz)

The only reason that comes to my mind is that "they" don't want to produce something good, if they did, they wouldn't have room for improvement ==> you won't buy something new

tueidj

I R Expert
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
You want to try convincing THE WHOLE WORLD to use a single standard, when they've all been using different ones for years and have billions of dollars worth of infrastructure in place?

Leathl

Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Gambia, The