Why in 2010 we still have Pal & Ntsc?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by electrico, Jan 30, 2010.

Jan 30, 2010
  1. electrico
    OP

Newcomer electrico Advanced Member

Greece
    Why companies who produce games and movies still have this old system in their products and they don't have one so the consumers around the world can enjoy the product.?

2. Ossot

Member Ossot GBAtemp Fan

United States
    True. And i'm no electrician here. But if all it takes is a software mod to say 'force' and it works on a different TV. There's no reason that the consoles and media players can't just allow you to select the output. Broadcast television, sure it needs to be localized still. But it's not like the players need different hardware based on regions. Just a different if-then switch.

3. DKAngel

Member DKAngel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Australia
    some old tvs dont support both signals hence why there is still those signals

4. Vattu

Member Vattu GBAtemp Regular

Sweden
    we have pal/ntsc because the stupid companies haven't yet realized they've failed.

region-blocked games are easily patched for the wii, yes, but it's a bit harder for xbox360 (I've heard). Sony (of all) don't have region-locks on their games.

5. Wiisel

Member Wiisel GBAtemp Maniac

United Kingdom
    The different colour coding/refresh rates has nothing to do with region protection its more to do with compatibility with regional variations on TV's and a countries standards.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PAL

6. WiiPower

Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

Germany
    They are failing because they want to fail.

Prove me wrong, but then explain why in the 3rd millennium:
    - we still have interlaced video modes(video production AND broadcast), while all current tv sets work digitally