Why does my Wii not find my router

Discussion in 'Wii - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by newb, Oct 22, 2009.

Oct 22, 2009

Why does my Wii not find my router by newb at 5:08 PM (2,386 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. newb
    OP

    Newcomer newb Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My Wii never detects my router anymore! It used to work fine but for about 6 months now, I always see No access point found everytime I try to search for the router. My DS and PC always detects ~5 wireless routers. I've tried loads of things like moving the router closer to the Wii, moving the Wii closer to the router lol, changing the routers channel, and its security, enabling uPnP (not sure if this helps), ensuring the router is compatible with the Wii, using an older router, manually entering the routers settings in the Wii, testing a connection that worked 6 months ago and following the troubleshooter from the nintendo site. What else should I try?
     
  2. zuron7

    Member zuron7 RBYG

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,369
    Location:
    GPS not available in this area
    Country:
    India
    Something wrong with your wii maybe.
     
  3. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    test the router with something other than the Wii like a laptop or a psp see if it's a problem with the router if it works with them then you'll know it something wrong with your Wii
     
  4. DarkMatterCore

    Member DarkMatterCore I like turtles.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    886
    Location:
    Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela.
    Country:
    Venezuela
    What about if that's a problem of the channel used by the router to transfer data, or it is related with the standard/type of connection you're using (802.11b, 802.11g or mixed)? Check those. I personally use the channel 6 and the 802.11b standard, if that helps, [​IMG].
     
  5. newb
    OP

    Newcomer newb Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Already tried channels 1, 6 and 11 on 802.11b, g and mixed. I'm able to connect to other devices (nds, ipod touch, pc) so I think it's probably a problem with my Wii - its' network card is probably damaged.
     
  6. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    what sort of encryption do you use WPA WPA2 or WEP cause I had to use wep to get my d-link router to connect to my Wii's
     
  7. newb
    OP

    Newcomer newb Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I use WPA2 and have tried WPA-AES, WPA-TKIP and WPA2-AES and no encryption.
     
  8. Black_Knight_666

    Member Black_Knight_666 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    If you have windows 7 you can download a software called connectify which will fix your issue
     
  9. Eddie_Brock

    Member Eddie_Brock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    Country:
    Canada
    Make sure your routers SSID is enabled.
    The SSID broadcasts on WiFi 'spectrum' if you will, and says "HERE I AM, Come Connect". It means anyone searching wireless access points finds your router.

    I've disabled mine on my network, because once the Wii has found and connected to a router with a SSID, it no longer needs that SSID to be broadcast in order to connect. I'm assuming at some point you've changed a setting in your wireless, or maybe just lost power at some point and it may have reset... Just double check that your SSID is enabled, and see if that makes the difference. As I say, if that does indeed work, you can always disable it again afterwards, as the Wii remembers the details to find the connection again.
     

Share This Page