Why can't previous DSlite flashcarts work in the DSi

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by houseonfire, Apr 7, 2009.

  1. houseonfire
    OP

    Member houseonfire GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    285
    Country:
    United States
    I see people saying that the old flashcarts cant work in the DSi, and some companies have already released new flashcarts for the DSi.
    I have even tested my Supercard slot one device in my DSi, and it will not work, as expected.

    But why can't they work? Is it software? hardware?
    Can I just plug my slot one device into a serial port on my computer and reprogram it to work? Or can some form of hacked firmware for the old flashcarts be made to make it work?
     


  2. klopfdreh

    Member klopfdreh GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Country:
    Germany
    It is a combination of both I think and nintendo somehow checks the chip id or some parts of the software that is going to be started and than blocking it. That would explain the different behaviour the flashcard block is going to be displayed on the dsi.

    - Some are not displayed when plugging it in.
    - Some can be started up and then a message is shown.

    I think the newer cards aren't blocked because the id and the software isn't listed in the dsi firmware, at the moment.
     
  3. houseonfire
    OP

    Member houseonfire GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    285
    Country:
    United States
    So if the firmware was made to let in any form of ID, then the old cards will work?
     
  4. Kingfield

    Member Kingfield GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    544
    Country:
    Australia
    I think thats a poor explanation....

    I THINK.

    Can someone check what is the exact message which is printed when the flashcart boots up?
     
  5. houseonfire
    OP

    Member houseonfire GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    285
    Country:
    United States
    "An error has occurred. Press and hold the Power Button to turn the System off. Please see the Nintendo DSi Operations Manual for help troubleshooting."
     
  6. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The US version ignores the flashcarts and says you got nothing inserted.
    The JP version tells you on the top screen.
     
  7. houseonfire
    OP

    Member houseonfire GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    285
    Country:
    United States
    The US version that I have gives me the above message on my bottom screen.
     
  8. klopfdreh

    Member klopfdreh GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Country:
    Germany
    Not any form of ID. Older flashcards are still blocked.

    Ah and by the way, the error you get depends on the flashcard and the software / hardware is used in it. So you can't say US shows this and JP shows that. It depends on the card.
     
  9. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    No the old flashcarts being blocked don't really have much to do with the actually firmware, I think it's more the hardware that blocks them.
     
  10. houseonfire
    OP

    Member houseonfire GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    285
    Country:
    United States
    Well something in the software has to tell the hardware to block it right?
     
  11. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    Yah part of the software has to do with it, but I would think most of it would be physical.

    IDK, I may be wrong on this and it would be all software, and then if we got custom firmware then we could use old flashcarts. But I'm pretty sure it has to do with the physical part of the DSi.
     
  12. houseonfire
    OP

    Member houseonfire GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    285
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm. fair enough. We will see what happens.
    I'm just not sure about spending money on an Ace card if I can get my old cart working on the DSi. But because I'm impatient, ill probably just buy the ace card.
     
  13. BlueStar

    Member BlueStar GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,094
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The cards made specifically for the DSi aren't blocked because they report the ID and serial of an actual DS game - I seem to remember for the first DSi carts to hit the market it was some aquarium game.
     
  14. houseonfire
    OP

    Member houseonfire GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    285
    Country:
    United States
    How can the old cards be made to report the ID of an actual game also?
     
  15. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    Dude updating your firmware of your old flashcart or anything similar that's not actually physical will not work. You will have to buy a new flashcart.
     
  16. houseonfire
    OP

    Member houseonfire GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    285
    Country:
    United States
    I'm sorry but I don't believe that.
    If i manufactured a flash card for the DS, I would release an entire new one and say the old one can't be updated to work with the DSi.
    The DSi is blocking it because of something in its firmware, or the old flash cards just don't work with it because of some problem I don't know about.
    Software has to tell hardware what to do. Whether its in Assembly, or just part of the flash cards OS/firmware. It's not being told to work, so it's not going to yet.
    The hardware on the insides are the same as far as i can tell.
     
  17. Fungustoken

    Newcomer Fungustoken Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Sweden
    The hardware on the DS lite and DSi same on the inside? You meen except the new speakers, the new screens, the new memory and cpu, the wireing for the cameras, the added diod, the added SD-card reader and the removed gba-slot....

    I'd say the hardware is pretty different....
     
  18. houseonfire
    OP

    Member houseonfire GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    285
    Country:
    United States
    I meant the flashcards.
    I'm not an idiot, don't treat me like one.
     
  19. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    No one really knows the specifics at this point.

    I've asked for technical details before, they just aren't available yet.
     
  20. Kingfield

    Member Kingfield GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    544
    Country:
    Australia
    The teams who've made DSi cards would know why. I just want them to reveal the specifics of why these flashcarts work, if its something that can be blocked by a firmware update or not...

    I think the other teams are waiting to see when these flashcarts get blocked, before they release new ones, which will probably unblockable.

    Thats just my two cents, but yeah.
     

Share This Page