Why can't GameCube games be loaded off USB HDD's?

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Conmore, Jun 27, 2012.

Jun 27, 2012
  1. Conmore
    OP

Newcomer Conmore Advanced Member

United States
    I was just wondering, because I have it formatted in NTFS, and when I put GC game files that were put through DiscEx, they don't show up, but when I do the same with an SD card, it shows up just fine. Anything I can do? I'm using USB Loader GX and MIOS DIOS to launch GC Games. Sorry if I sound stupid, I'm still learning what everything is when it comes to Wii Software.

2. Harsky

Member Harsky Madmin

United Kingdom
    NTFS isn't supported. Format as FAT32 with a 32k cluster and then that'll work.

3. mrpinkeye

Member mrpinkeye GBAtemp Advanced Fan

United Kingdom
    hmm, id been wondering why my HDD wouldnt work, wil have to check what format its in. it does show the games in cfg loader though...just wont play them. does that make sense?

pretty sure i also tryed with my usb stick which is fat32 32k clusters and that wouldnt run games in cfg :(

4. Conmore
    OP

United States
    Thanks! You're a lifesaver. I'll tell you the results. Will this also hold Wii Games with the WBFS File System?

5. uribemaster

Member uribemaster GBAtemp Fan

United States
    Are you using Dios Mios Lite or Dios Mios? Dios Mios Lite only supports sd and not usb

6. kirbymaster101

Member kirbymaster101 GBAtemp Maniac

Canada
    If you want to keep your ntfs drive you can split the hdd into two partitions but make sure the first one is fat32 with 32k clusters

7. Conmore
    OP

United States
    DIOS MIOS, but I'm not 100% sure. Is there a way I can check.

8. Conmore
    OP

United States