Which R4's work with Wood R4?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by kiafazool, Jun 13, 2010.

Jun 13, 2010
  1. kiafazool
    OP

    Member kiafazool GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,221
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    hey guys
    kiafazool here with yet another question wandering my head?
    which r4's work with wood r4 and have sdhc support meaning that a r4 clone compatible with sdhc?
    why wouldn't i just get a r4 you ask because if i buy a r4 even if its $3 i would have to go around looking for a microsd card compatible with it?
    and why i want to get a r4 compatible with sdhc because i have an extra 4gb microsdhc card and have no use for it?
    why would i go around looking for a 2gb microsd card when i have a 4gb microsdhc card
    what i want is a cheap r4 sdhc which is a direct clone of a r4 (actually all r4's compatible of wood are clones now)
    i looked around on priceangels to find a r4sdhc (the direct clone of r4) that people say is compatible with wood?
    help is greatly appreciated
     
  2. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,082
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just genuine R4's and 1:1 clones. Anything that says SDHC will not work.
     
  3. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Simple, none.

    Wood only works on the original R4, or 1:1 clones of the original R4.

    There's a thread on here where people were trying to get it work on the R4-SDHC, but they have up and that thread is locked. You also so many different R4-SDHC clones, their task is difficult.
     
  4. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    No R4 SDHC is compatible with Wood R4.
    This is a Wood R4 for clones, but it's outdated.
     
  5. kiafazool
    OP

    Member kiafazool GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,221
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    so there is no r4 clone that can use my sdhc card
    is there like a way to take out the micro sd card slot an put a sdhc card slot?
     
  6. emigre

    Member emigre Has complex motives

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7,919
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, the R4 hardware (or 1:1clones) just isn't built for SDHC.
     
  7. kiafazool
    OP

    Member kiafazool GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,221
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    dammit
    any websites for cheap microsd cards?
     
  8. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    1. A microSD slot is no different than a microSDHC slot. It's the hardware that reads the microSD that's incompatible with the SDHC.
    2. Just buy a Acekard 2i.
    3. Amazon?
     
  9. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    Just as a quick note, it wouldn't matter if you got it working on an SDHC clone anyways since Wood R4 doesn't support SDHC (there's a beta hacked version for the M3 I got to test and it didn't work for me because I only had an SDHC card).
     
  10. kiafazool
    OP

    Member kiafazool GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,221
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    so does any one know where to get a 3$ r4 with like a 3$ microsd card?
     
  11. kiafazool
    OP

    Member kiafazool GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,221
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    should someone who has a ak2i worry about getting a r4?
    should someone who has akaio get wood?
     
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    AK2i > R4
    AKAIO > wood
     
  13. kiafazool
    OP

    Member kiafazool GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,221
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    i know that
    what im asking is that
    should one have a wood r4 as a backup for akaio
     
  14. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    Do you expect an acekard to break so soon? I've had mine for a year no problem. My answer is maybe though. [​IMG]
     
  15. kiafazool
    OP

    Member kiafazool GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,221
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    i meant as software wise
    should someone with akaio worry about not having wood?
     
  16. Rabbi Nevins

    Member Rabbi Nevins GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    the cheapest i can find is $3.30 for an r4 and $4.04 for a 512mb micro sd

    both shipped and i HIGHLY doubt you can find cheaper.
     
  17. GreatCrippler

    Member GreatCrippler Greatness Fallen

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Country:
    United States
    Given the guys who make it are part of the same team, if you really want a backup in case the software stops getting made, maybe try another card entirely. Supercard, or M3, or Cyclo.
     
  18. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    Get a different card(not ak or r4) if you're so insecure about that
     
  19. lukands

    Member lukands I took the little bus here

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    Your mamas house
    Country:
    Estonia
    I don`t think your going to find any microsd cards for $3 (even 512mb or 1gb, if thats even possible these days). If your in TO then try a local computer shop or similar $8-9) Forget the flea markets or the big box stores (I`ve checked)
     

Share This Page