Where do I find the Netgear WGR614 version number?

Discussion in 'Wii - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by ALX1982, Jan 22, 2010.

Jan 22, 2010
  1. ALX1982
    OP

    Newcomer ALX1982 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Sweden
    I wanna buy a Netgear WGR614 router and connect to the Wii Wi-Fi.

    Apparently there are different version numbers on them. Like V5, V9 etc.
    It doesn't say anything about it on the boxes at the store, maybe this info is only printed on the router?
    Also, when updating the firmware you first have to know which version the routher is.
     
  2. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Do. Not. Purchase. That. Router.

    I have it and it sucks. Dropped connections. Terrible Signal strength. Purchase a better router.
     
  3. ALX1982
    OP

    Newcomer ALX1982 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Sweden
    Yes well, I haven't decided yet.
    By the way, if you don't already have, download the latest firmware. I read that it will fix some problems like dropped connections etc.
    Maybe the Netgear WNR2000 is better... so hard to choose one.
     
  4. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Ya. I have the latest firmware on the router and still have the same issues.

    I tend to avoid Netgear routers. I prefer Linksys routers.
     
  5. mrSmiles

    Member mrSmiles mrSmiles {^_^}

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,322
    Country:
    Canada
    version number is usually under the router, if your looking to get a wireless router, get the WRT54GL
     
  6. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    I've had nothing but trouble with two netgear routers in the past. Got a linksys instead and have never looked back.


    Back on topic. Version number is generally only printed on the actual router. I guess it's a good way to save costs on packaging so they don't have to change them for different versions.
     
  7. 418864035

    Newcomer 418864035 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    you can buy it at bestbuy..i got it few monthes ago..it woeks good.
     
  8. Am0s

    Member Am0s Mojo Risin

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    netgear are hit and miss you might end up with a shitty firmware which screws your around or a nice stable one, I tend to stay away from them
     

Share This Page