What would be a good programming language to learn if you're a beginner to programming?

• Thread starter Deleted User
  • Start date
  • Views 10,508
  • Replies 106
D

Deleted User

OP
I've been wanting to get into programming for quite a while now, but I don't know what programming language would be good for someone who is a complete beginner to programming, I want to try to start with one that's at least slightly easy.

zoogie

playing around in the end of life
Developer
Trophies
XP
Country
Micronesia, Federated States of
I've been wanting to get into programming for quite a while now, but I don't know what programming language would be good for someone who is a complete beginner to programming, I want to try to start with one that's at least slightly easy.
Python or C/C++.

If anybody recommends Java to you, club them over the head with a blunt heavy object.

migles

All my gbatemp friends are now mods, except for me
Trophies
XP
Country
China
usually java is the language pointed for begginers. but fuck that.
java sucks.
imho java is just a sandbox... you can build stuff on it, but you will live on a closed box...

better learn actual C/C++
IMO is the best language...

Reactions: Deleted User

sarkwalvein

There's hope for a Xenosaga port.
Trophies
XP
Country
Germany

sarkwalvein

Trophies
XP
Country
Germany
How did you find the documentation to compile stuff in the correct version, to avoid compilation failed?

If you want to learn programming in C I recommend you install some version of Linux, even in a virtual machine.
You get in touch with the real tools at the low level, and everything is very easy to obtain just using yout package managing software. (yum or apt-get, very easy to use even from the terminal)
If you install any Linux, let's say Debian, then be sure to install development packages (gcc, etc.)
There are linux man pages for every standard function in C, so that also helps.
I would also suggest using a linux distro to learn Python.