Gaming What should I upgrade?

Zenith94

1337 h4x0r f0r t3h w1nz
Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
825
Trophies
0
Age
27
Website
youtube.com
XP
236
Country
United States
So I just started playing some pc games and some of them out their are pretty demanding, so I think its time for an upgrade. Here are my pc specs:

Windows 7 Ultimate
32-bit Operating System
Intel Core™2 Duo CPU E8300 @ 2.83GHz 2.83 GHz
3.00 GB (RAM)
ATI Radeon HD 2400
Intel 8256V-2 10/100 Network Connection

So what do you guys recommend?
 

Cermage

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2007
Messages
1,701
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
275
Country
how much are you willing to spend?

cpu is fine for now, i'd go the graphics card. either a HD5770 (150-160+) or a GTS250 (100~)
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
The processor need upgrading. Try getting a quad-core processor like a Intel® Core™ i7 or Intel® Core™2 Quad.
 

timmyisme22

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
31
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Yakima, WA
XP
134
Country
United States
The CPU is fine for now, but try upgrading the GPU as radiant said. You should see a nice boost from that.

Also, check to see if your motherboard can handle faster RAM and if so, upgrade the speed and quantity to 4gigs. Otherwise, just buy another gig and you should see a nice boost all around with the GPU.
 

Joe88

[λ]
Global Moderator
Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
12,635
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
6,156
Country
United States
timmyisme22 said:
The CPU is fine for now, but try upgrading the GPU as radiant said. You should see a nice boost from that.

Also, check to see if your motherboard can handle faster RAM and if so, upgrade the speed and quantity to 4gigs. Otherwise, just buy another gig and you should see a nice boost all around with the GPU.
another GB of ram would be pointless
he has a 32bit operating system which would generally recognize up to 3.25GB only not matter how much more was added

anyway to the point
cpu is fine and so are other components

obviously downfall if gfx card
so upgrade and you should be good

you can get a nice 4850 for around $100
 

kylehaas

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
157
Trophies
0
XP
77
Country
United States
As people have already said, your CPU is fine.
I have a 3.8ghz pentium 4 and I can handle everything on highest quality, even Crysis.
Your dual core should perform just as well or better.

Just spend some money on a graphics card. I recently got a HD4850 for 80$ at Newegg.com...
Just search around for a good deal and make sure your powersupply can handle it.
 

Lee79

Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2007
Messages
920
Trophies
0
Age
42
Location
ctf_2fort
Website
steamcommunity.com
XP
210
Country
kylehaas said:
As people have already said, your CPU is fine.
I have a 3.8ghz pentium 4 and I can handle everything on highest quality, even Crysis.
Your dual core should perform just as well or better.

Just spend some money on a graphics card. I recently got a HD4850 for 80$ at Newegg.com...
Just search around for a good deal and make sure your powersupply can handle it.

This and overclock your CPU if you can will give you a nice boost my friend has got a E8400 and I just up'd the FSB from 333 to 400 to overclock it to 3.6ghz and it plays games very well.
 

Scorpei

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2006
Messages
1,295
Trophies
0
Website
scorpei.com
XP
263
Country
Netherlands
Lee79 said:
kylehaas said:
As people have already said, your CPU is fine.
I have a 3.8ghz pentium 4 and I can handle everything on highest quality, even Crysis.
Your dual core should perform just as well or better.

Just spend some money on a graphics card. I recently got a HD4850 for 80$ at Newegg.com...
Just search around for a good deal and make sure your powersupply can handle it.

This and overclock your CPU if you can will give you a nice boost my friend has got a E8400 and I just up'd the FSB from 333 to 400 to overclock it to 3.6ghz and it plays games very well.
Overclocking can damage the CPU, this you should know. I do agree however, that the CPU is more then up to the task (personally running an e4500 @ 3GHz and a HD5770) but the GPU is a better choice in upgrading.

Agreed however that he e8300 should overclock quite nicely with at least a good FSB overclock and probably a core clock of around 3,6Gzhz (however naturally no guarentees).
 

Zenith94

1337 h4x0r f0r t3h w1nz
Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
825
Trophies
0
Age
27
Website
youtube.com
XP
236
Country
United States
Lee79 said:
kylehaas said:
As people have already said, your CPU is fine.
I have a 3.8ghz pentium 4 and I can handle everything on highest quality, even Crysis.
Your dual core should perform just as well or better.

Just spend some money on a graphics card. I recently got a HD4850 for 80$ at Newegg.com...
Just search around for a good deal and make sure your powersupply can handle it.

This and overclock your CPU if you can will give you a nice boost my friend has got a E8400 and I just up'd the FSB from 333 to 400 to overclock it to 3.6ghz and it plays games very well.

Well is there a guide for overclocking a E8300?
 

Lee79

Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2007
Messages
920
Trophies
0
Age
42
Location
ctf_2fort
Website
steamcommunity.com
XP
210
Country
Zenith94 said:
Lee79 said:
kylehaas said:
As people have already said, your CPU is fine.
I have a 3.8ghz pentium 4 and I can handle everything on highest quality, even Crysis.
Your dual core should perform just as well or better.

Just spend some money on a graphics card. I recently got a HD4850 for 80$ at Newegg.com...
Just search around for a good deal and make sure your powersupply can handle it.

This and overclock your CPU if you can will give you a nice boost my friend has got a E8400 and I just up'd the FSB from 333 to 400 to overclock it to 3.6ghz and it plays games very well.

Well is there a guide for overclocking a E8300?

Try this guide to start with
http://www.overclock.net/intel-cpus/497993...d-core-2-a.html

and here is links to some more and Intel CPU information.
http://www.overclock.net/intel-cpus/225371...ted-guides.html
 

Zenith94

1337 h4x0r f0r t3h w1nz
Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
825
Trophies
0
Age
27
Website
youtube.com
XP
236
Country
United States
Lee79 said:
Zenith94 said:
Lee79 said:
kylehaas said:
As people have already said, your CPU is fine.
I have a 3.8ghz pentium 4 and I can handle everything on highest quality, even Crysis.
Your dual core should perform just as well or better.

Just spend some money on a graphics card. I recently got a HD4850 for 80$ at Newegg.com...
Just search around for a good deal and make sure your powersupply can handle it.

This and overclock your CPU if you can will give you a nice boost my friend has got a E8400 and I just up'd the FSB from 333 to 400 to overclock it to 3.6ghz and it plays games very well.

Well is there a guide for overclocking a E8300?

Try this guide to start with
http://www.overclock.net/intel-cpus/497993...d-core-2-a.html

and here is links to some more and Intel CPU information.
http://www.overclock.net/intel-cpus/225371...ted-guides.html

Before I read into this, do you think overclocking an Intel 2 Core Duo E8300 @ 2.83 GHz would be safe? And how high of GHz should I go?
 

Lee79

Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2007
Messages
920
Trophies
0
Age
42
Location
ctf_2fort
Website
steamcommunity.com
XP
210
Country
Zenith94 said:
Lee79 said:
Zenith94 said:
Lee79 said:
kylehaas said:
As people have already said, your CPU is fine.
I have a 3.8ghz pentium 4 and I can handle everything on highest quality, even Crysis.
Your dual core should perform just as well or better.

Just spend some money on a graphics card. I recently got a HD4850 for 80$ at Newegg.com...
Just search around for a good deal and make sure your powersupply can handle it.

This and overclock your CPU if you can will give you a nice boost my friend has got a E8400 and I just up'd the FSB from 333 to 400 to overclock it to 3.6ghz and it plays games very well.

Well is there a guide for overclocking a E8300?

Try this guide to start with
http://www.overclock.net/intel-cpus/497993...d-core-2-a.html

and here is links to some more and Intel CPU information.
http://www.overclock.net/intel-cpus/225371...ted-guides.html

Before I read into this, do you think overclocking an Intel 2 Core Duo E8300 @ 2.83 GHz would be safe? And how high of GHz should I go?

It depends on what your PC system is like PSU make/voltage/Wattage, what model Motherboard and RAM you have and what sort of cooling you have on the CPU and Case?

Found another link with people that have overclocked that chip try asking on there you should get lots of help from people who have that chip and experiance.
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=190564
 

Zenith94

1337 h4x0r f0r t3h w1nz
Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
825
Trophies
0
Age
27
Website
youtube.com
XP
236
Country
United States
Well I don't really know where to find that info but here is my info from SpeedFan:

scz22b.png

I also found this program called EVEREST that gives some overclocking info:

4j1ie.png

If I increase the CPU multiplier to 10x, wouldn't that put me at like 3.14 GHz? I could just do that its better than 2.83.
 

Scorpei

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2006
Messages
1,295
Trophies
0
Website
scorpei.com
XP
263
Country
Netherlands
Stop what you are doing. Don't overclock, try such things on a test system of little value and learn how and what on there, you clearly do not know what you are doing. Simply replace / add a graphics card and be done with it. You will get more gain in speed in games from that anyway.
 

Cermage

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2007
Messages
1,701
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
275
Country
^lol.

the only way you can really damage a processor during an overclock is if you put some stupid value in for vcore. just mess with the fsb and multi for now if you really want to o/c. but yeah, you'll see a bigger increase in performance if you get the card than overclocking your current proc.
 

Scorpei

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2006
Messages
1,295
Trophies
0
Website
scorpei.com
XP
263
Country
Netherlands
.Radiant said:
^lol.

the only way you can really damage a processor during an overclock is if you put some stupid value in for vcore. just mess with the fsb and multi for now if you really want to o/c. but yeah, you'll see a bigger increase in performance if you get the card than overclocking your current proc.
If you feel like playing with the OC regardless, please do take the V settings off off auto (as the board will increase it whenever you increase FSB or core speed).
 

dilav

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2006
Messages
1,238
Trophies
0
XP
351
Country
United States
I'd upgrade video card first if its for gaming. keep your hdd defragged, one of the slowest things in most computer nowadays.
 

Zenith94

1337 h4x0r f0r t3h w1nz
Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
825
Trophies
0
Age
27
Website
youtube.com
XP
236
Country
United States
.Radiant said:
^lol.

the only way you can really damage a processor during an overclock is if you put some stupid value in for vcore. just mess with the fsb and multi for now if you really want to o/c. but yeah, you'll see a bigger increase in performance if you get the card than overclocking your current proc.

Anyway, so should I overclock it to 10x? That would increase it to like 3.13ghz which is much better than 2.83. But would it affect both cores?
 

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
    elk1007 @ elk1007: lol cant tear the membrane