What more do i need?

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by stormbob, Nov 4, 2008.

Nov 4, 2008

What more do i need? by stormbob at 12:24 PM (1,125 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. stormbob
    OP

    Newcomer stormbob Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Denmark
    Hi guys,
    So im still quite new, so just trying to figure out what more i need to make it all running.
    Ive got my DS Lite [​IMG]
    And bought: CycloDS Evolution Black + 4GB MicroSD Card (was a bundle on divineo modchip site)
    That should include:
    Oh and since im still not quite sure what to do with it, this might be a silly question, but am i able to do it from a Mac? [​IMG]
    Thanks alot guys.
     
  2. thegame07

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You have all you need! although I'm not sure how you update the cyclo so not sure about the mac question.
     
  3. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    A Mac will work just fine. All you have to do is drag & drop files to and from the memory card, which will appear as a disk drive when you plug it into the computer. You'll need a program for extracting rar and 7z files (and zip files, but the Mac probably does that out of the box), as some of the software you may want to use is distributed that way. I'm not sure what such programs are available for the Mac, but it shouldn't be too hard to find one.

    That's technically all the hardware you need, but I'd recommend getting another card reader. The ones that come with flashcarts have a relatively high failure rate. It will probably work, but it's always good to have a backup.
     
  4. bubbatub

    Newcomer bubbatub Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
  5. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A Slot 2 card (EZFlash 3in1) to dump your own DS games and use for GBA games would be an idea too.
     
  6. Priss

    Member Priss GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    You really should browse the forum and see wtf people are taking about.
    Inform yourself every time you come across a topic your not sure... like Moonshell.
    Different Homebrews... How to add sKINS or play videos/music...

    The forum is full of information for you to browse. Enjoy! [​IMG]
     
  7. mrSmiles

    Member mrSmiles mrSmiles {^_^}

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,322
    Country:
    Canada
    if that's 4GB MicroSDHC i suggest you get a new and better card reader than the one that comes with the cyclods.
     
  8. Priss

    Member Priss GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    What's wrong with the one Cyclo provides? Mine works fine [​IMG]
     
  9. mrSmiles

    Member mrSmiles mrSmiles {^_^}

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,322
    Country:
    Canada
    it may not happen to a lot of people but for me when i tried my 8gb it screwed up the cyclods card reader and was unable to use it with the 20+ 1gb microsd's i have laying around, fact is those type of card readers that come with the flash carts are cheap and can be prone to failure, as the old saying goes "better safe, then sorry"

    in the end i bought a new card reader for $15, even though i could have gotten it cheaper
     
  10. Seven

    Member Seven oh hell no

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    777
    Country:
    United States
    I can honestly vouch that the CycloDS microSD(HC) card reader has never broken down on me or failed me. Not saying that it's a perfect reader, as mrSmiles says, most card readers do break down, but the newer card readers included with the CDSE aren't very prone to breaking, as compared to the older plastic ones. Now those were pretty terrible.
     
  11. Vincent T

    Member Vincent T GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    Country:
    United States
    Yes it will work on a Mac. I have a Mac myself. All you really need is to drag and drop the roms. There is some softwares for PC that you can edit your cyclo like CycloEdit.
     

Share This Page