What is the easiest way to play SNES roms on my DS with the Cyclo? (SN

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by DaBurgh, Mar 10, 2008.

  1. DaBurgh
    OP

    Newcomer DaBurgh Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Kent State University (Pa born
    Country:
    United States
    I found this site http://snemul.com/ds/ and it doesn't list the CycloDS Evo as a supported card. What do I have to do to patch it and get the Cyclo to support the Snes mul. Unless I'm reading that site incorrectly and it's already supported. I'm a complete and total flash cart noob and looking to add some SNES games to my DS if possible. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    The blog posts on the website have apparently gone back in time or something, though the downloads are still recent. As long as your card is supported by DLDI (which it is) you can run SNEmulDS. Just put snemul.cfg on the root of your card, the SNES games in a folder called "SNES" on the root of your card, and the SNEmulDS.nds file anywhere. Launch it and select the game to play.
     
  3. DaBurgh
    OP

    Newcomer DaBurgh Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Kent State University (Pa born
    Country:
    United States

    I don't have my SD card yet. I just recently received the Cyclo in the mail. We've been getting crushed with snow so it seems the SD card has been delayed. I'm just downloading stuff, mostly NDS games so when the card does get here all i have to do is drag and drop. So I just download Snemul and drag it on my card like I would the NDS rom? I really am a total noob with all of this....thanks for the info thus far. I appreciate it.
     
  4. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Pretty much, yeah. Just put the files in the right place and the CycloDS Evo will automatically patch it with DLDI when you run it, so you don't have to worry about how it's going to talk to your filesystem.

    Keep in mind that SNES emulation on the DS isn't perfect, so expect some graphics glitches and incompatibilities.
     
  5. ninjya

    Newcomer ninjya Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    Does all homebrew files need to be put in the root of the card?
    I was hoping I could have a folder named homebrew and in there have a separate folder for each homebrew app.
     
  6. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Not all, no. The snemul.cfg file is actually the only one that is required to be in the root of the card. You can edit it to search for SNES games in a location other than "SNES", and you can always have SNEmulDS.nds anywhere on the card.

    Other homebrew apps may have different rules. Most can be run from anywhere, though some do require specific files to be located in specific areas.
     
  7. GatorDeb

    Member GatorDeb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    United States
    I went and downloaded version 03 and it doesn't have a .cfg file... did they do away with it?

    BTW compatibility is horrible... Mario Kart won't run, for example.
     
  8. MrSpud

    Member MrSpud GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    166
    Location:
    Barrie,Ontario,Canada
    Country:
    Canada

    If Mario Kart could run perfectly, all roms would run perfectly! Same with Yoshi Island, Super Mario RPG ...
     
  9. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Why would you download such an old version? v0.3 was long before the snemul.cfg file was even introduced. Use v0.5 Beta or v0.6 Alpha. I keep both on my card since I'm more used to the v0.5 menus.

    And yeah, of course SMK won't work. It uses a special coprocessor chip that no emulator for the GBA or DS emulates. Other games included in this category can be found at http://wiki.pocketheaven.com/SNES_games_with_special_chips
     
  10. GatorDeb

    Member GatorDeb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    United States
    I put in "SNEmul and that's the latest that come up on Google. I googled it with 0.6 and found that one. It does run Super Punch Out 2 which the other one didn't, so it is better.

    It runs the Picross family but the grid doesn't actually come up [​IMG] Anyone know of any SNES emul that runs the Picross games?
     

Share This Page