what is the difference between these two files ?

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by zosig, Mar 27, 2010.

Mar 27, 2010
  1. zosig
    OP

    Newcomer zosig Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    hey all, i'm new here, just bought a dsi, dsonei, and 8gb micro sd. i have the firmware but ran into 2 different os ?

    what is the difference between

    DSONEi_SDHC_Evolution_V1.0_eng_sp2_0324 (_dsone & SCFW.SC)

    and

    DSonei_SDHC_V3.0_sp8_eng (scshell & MSFORSC.NDS)

    from what i have read the second one is correct ?

    thanks!
     
  2. Rogue_Syst3m

    Member Rogue_Syst3m GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Location:
    J-Ville
    Country:
    United States
    evolution is the newest os for the card
     
  3. zosig
    OP

    Newcomer zosig Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    so i guess the manual came with dsonei is out dated then? Thanks!
     
  4. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    Yep. You can install both though, that way, if there's ever a bug in the EOS, you immediately switch back to the old OS.
     
  5. zosig
    OP

    Newcomer zosig Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    just tried the new os. started up fine with time running. if i touch screen any of the 3 tabs on top it freezes (time stops). it also freezes when i press start or select ? and y.
    the only thing i had on the sd are updateen, _dsone, and SCFW.SC i read there is a new patch to fix the problem???

    i'm loading the old os now and will wait for a while before upgrade but if you know the solution please post. thanks!
     
  6. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    Wait... You don't have games on your card?
     
  7. zosig
    OP

    Newcomer zosig Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    i made a game folder in the root folder and that didn't even show up with the new os. i'm using the old os now and is working ok.
     
  8. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Backup all files, reformat your card then try. Best advice I can give you. Make sure to format to FAT/FAT32 or something
     
  9. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    Maybe you forgot to copy a certain file.

    Also, IF you format it, do it using the Panasonic SDFormatter.
     
  10. zosig
    OP

    Newcomer zosig Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    1. format: FAT32, 64 kb allocation, uncheck quick format
    2. copy updateed (firmware) to sd root directory
    3. micro sd + sc + firmware adapter -> usb port -> red flashes ........... -> solid green
    4. copy _dsone & SCFW.SC to root
    5. make folders in _dsone directory just to see if they show up ..... NOPE
    6. sd + sc -> dsi -> star wars leathal alliance ubisoft
    7. os screen with setup, saver, and chest on bottom dvtnr and nothing on top screen beside the wallpaper
    8. touch any of the tab will freeze system, y = freeze, start = freeze

    stuck here, old os works fine, micro sd is working fine

    any thought ? if not i will try the other formatter, but the old os works fine that's what i don't get, my system is halting on something and the time freezes too

    i over read something about updating a patch within _dsone ... TRIED - STILL FREEZES

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  11. joedanger

    Newcomer joedanger Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    United States
  12. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Format with the Panasonic SD Formatter.
     
  13. Xoo00o0o0o

    Member Xoo00o0o0o Xoo00o0o0o is in the house

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    796
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Country:
    United States
    your putting the files inside the dsone folder you need to put it in the root

    Edit: Files like game movie picture
     
  14. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    Hey, you're right, I didn't even notice that! [​IMG]

    @OP: put the Game, Music, Picture, and all those folders that contain files you want to play/watch/whatever on the root of your card, not in the _dsone folder.
     
  15. gameguy95

    Banned gameguy95 Needs More Furries!

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,119
    Location:
    Furrytown
    Country:
    United States
    !_! that is not very diificult now was it?_?
     
  16. zosig
    OP

    Newcomer zosig Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    i actually tried that first and i get a white screen with something like "no ds card? find, please turn off power". but if i put those folders in _dsone i can actually get into the new os main screen with the 3 touching tabs
     
  17. zosig
    OP

    Newcomer zosig Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    evo sp1 works flawlessly.... weird... but it's certainly better than the old os
     
  18. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    Read my previous post. Only put the game, music, picture, movie folders on the root, not the others as they are part of the operating system.
     
  19. zosig
    OP

    Newcomer zosig Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    i did.

    self made folders in the _dsone folder = error message
    self made folders in sd root = freeze

    that's all on sp2. i'm running sp1 now and everything works fine. thanks.
     

Share This Page