What inside of a CycloDS iEvolution Flash card ?

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by Game Dragon, Feb 1, 2011.

  1. Game Dragon
    OP

    Member Game Dragon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    Australia
    Has anybody got a photo of the inside of a CycloDS iEvolution Flash card I would be very interested to see what's inside
     
  2. Gariscus

    Member Gariscus Former Team Cyclops Mod

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Australia
     
  3. Game Dragon
    OP

    Member Game Dragon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    Australia
    Thank you for that, it looks like it has a CPU in it and I think it will be able to do a lot more than what they are admitting to, time will tell
     
  4. Evo.lve

    Member Evo.lve All that you could be.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,786
    Location:
    Away from you.
    Country:
    Australia
    How is there a CPU inside? You have no idea what you're talking about do you?

    Actel chip ? CPU.
     
  5. Game Dragon
    OP

    Member Game Dragon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    Australia
    It's simple it has 24Mhz clock, not much use a high speed clock other than a CPU
     
  6. Evo.lve

    Member Evo.lve All that you could be.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,786
    Location:
    Away from you.
    Country:
    Australia
    It's not a CPU.
     
  7. Game Dragon
    OP

    Member Game Dragon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    Australia
    It the chip next to the micro SDHC socket I think it's a in house chip not off the shelf so will never know for sure but because of the high price it certainly could be
     
  8. Evo.lve

    Member Evo.lve All that you could be.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,786
    Location:
    Away from you.
    Country:
    Australia
    It's not a CPU.

    And even if it was, how would you know it has a 24MHz clock?
     
  9. Game Dragon
    OP

    Member Game Dragon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    Australia
    You can see the 24Mhz crystal in the first photo, have you got one to test? if you do you are one of the lucky ones, I really envy you if you do
     
  10. Evo.lve

    Member Evo.lve All that you could be.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,786
    Location:
    Away from you.
    Country:
    Australia
    Whoops, thought you were talking about the massive black thing to the left of the mSD slot. My bad.

    Even so, a 24MHz CPU can't do shit.
     
  11. Game Dragon
    OP

    Member Game Dragon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    Australia
    I think you are right I just had a look inside of an AceKard and it looks almost the same, if it hasn't got a CPU its overpriced to hell
     
  12. Evo.lve

    Member Evo.lve All that you could be.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,786
    Location:
    Away from you.
    Country:
    Australia
    That's Cyclops for ya.
     
  13. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
  14. rave420

    Member rave420 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Country:
    Canada
    24mhz, the chip with that on it is an OSCILLATOR.

    what it does is, it creates a sinusodial wave with the frequency of 24.000mhz. This is important, to synchronize all chips on the PCB.

    It's kind of like a clock, where events are measured /timed / synchronized in oscillations.

    if one chip talks faster then the other one can read, the oscilator comes into play. Here, ever 10th swing or so, a bit of data can be send. Think about it as the governor (or the speed limit) of the highways on the PCB [​IMG]

    and there is no CPU on that PCB.
    the ACTEL chip is an field-programmable gate array (FPGA), which is more akin to integrated circuits then CPU's. It perfroms logic operations, and is conceptually different then a Central Processing Unit.

    The other large black chip (48 pins) is a most likely some flash memory chip. I can't read numbers on it, so i couldn't tell you. Yet, with 48 pins, i am certain that it's flash memory used for storing firmware / bootstrap.
    It appears that pin 3 on the chip is grounded. If i could read the number on the chip, i could tell you exactly what kind of memory it is, what mode it operates in, and what capacity it has.
     
  15. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The MCU near the FPGA is a Silicon Labs T631 and the flash memory is a Samung K8D631UBM-YI07 (64M Bit (8M x8/4M x16) Dual Bank NOR Flash Memory). [​IMG]
    As stated on the iEvo metal box : FPGA + MCU and 8MB flash memory.
     

Share This Page