What could be the problem?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by Sstew, Dec 3, 2009.

Dec 3, 2009

What could be the problem? by Sstew at 6:08 PM (1,061 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Sstew
    OP

    Member Sstew GBAtemp's Grim Reaper.

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,463
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    My friend is wanting to sell his 360 Pro for 35$. He says there's one issue with it, and it's that the video no longer shows.
    I'm interested in it, because of the price.
    Why would the video NOT show, and what are some fixes?

    Besides buying a new component cable. If that didnt fix it, what could be the issue and how could I fix it.

    Thanks

    *Can't send it in warranty expired" Pro is about 2 years old, 2 Previous RROD's fixed by Microsoft*
     
  2. Chalky94

    Newcomer Chalky94 Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Microsoft warranty is 3 years.....
     
  3. Sstew
    OP

    Member Sstew GBAtemp's Grim Reaper.

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,463
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    I thought that only applied to RROD and thats no longer the issue
     
  4. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Possible reasons for no video? Cable failure, port failure, HANA failure, GPU failure, or one of the connections between all of the above. Normally a HANA/GPU failure leads to RRoD. It's highly possible that it's on the verge of getting a RRoD anyway, if there is a failure internally, except if it's something to do with the port (e.g. if the contacts are scratched up or if any foreign bodies are dirtying it).

    Another possibility is the most stupid but also most likely explanation. Have you checked that your component/composite cable switch (located at the end which plugs into the Xbox) is at the right setting? If you're using 3 wires, set the switch to TV. If you're using 5 wires, set the switch to HDTV. Check that you're using the right setting (and/or that the switch itself isn't damaged).

    ...Or it's possible that the TV connections themselves might be damaged/dirty, but I've never seen this happen with any TV.
     
  5. cheatmaster5

    Member cheatmaster5 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    Country:
    United States
    e74 can lead to no video and thats covered under microsofts 3 year warranty
     
  6. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    But if it's E74 RRoD (usually due to a damaged solder or connection between the GPU, HANA scaler and the output port), you won't be able to claim it under the warranty until you actually get RRoD, due to the number of other reasons that could cause no video problems which have nothing to do with the internals.

    First thing to check out is always the cable, and the TV/HDTV switch on the cable.

    If nothing works, then the next course of action is to call M$ themselves and complain at them for making (arguably) the worst console design in history (that said, when it works, it works well, but that doesn't excuse the bad design in the first place). They'll probably have a list of things to check what's wrong before telling you to send it in to them for refurbishment/replacement.
     
  7. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    Don't see why your inclined, its already got RROD twice before.
     
  8. Sstew
    OP

    Member Sstew GBAtemp's Grim Reaper.

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,463
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    The price, and the chance that I might be able to fix it and save myself. the cost of buying a new one
     
  9. mp2609

    Newcomer mp2609 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had the exact same problem of no picture showing. Sent it into MS saying it was RROD, and they fixed it and sent it back, still flashed [​IMG]
     
  10. Sstew
    OP

    Member Sstew GBAtemp's Grim Reaper.

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,463
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    And they didnt charge you the 140.00 charge?
     

Share This Page