What all exactly does DSTWO do?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Zelduck, Apr 16, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Apr 16, 2012
  1. Zelduck
    OP

    Newcomer Zelduck Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    Well,I want one,but are there even any 3DS ROMs I can download? And also,can it load N64 ROMs or maybe even GBC/GBA without using an emulator?
     


  2. finkmac

    Member finkmac GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    446
    Location:
    Over there
    Country:
    Canada
    Why don't you search before you post? Or at least read around…
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. CollosalPokemon

    Member CollosalPokemon ばん。。。かい

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    681
    Country:
    United States
    THANK YOU FOR READING THE FORUMS SO PASSIONATELY.

    It's really, really difficult to not notice the "NOTHING PLAYS 3DS ROMs" thread.

    [​IMG]



    N64 is out of the question in DS mode.
    You need an emulator for GBC/GBA on a DSTWO.
     
    Jiehfeng, eyecat14, TwinRetro and 3 others like this.
  4. Zelduck
    OP

    Newcomer Zelduck Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States

    I've actually looked in several places to no avail,but I didn't look on the DSTWO site.

    ...I probably should.
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. DiscostewSM

    Member DiscostewSM GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,791
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Country:
    United States
    http://gbatemp.net/f...cking-homebrew/

    First stickied thread. Dunno how you missed it, considering you were on that page to make this thread.
     
  6. Ace Overclocked

    Member Ace Overclocked My CPU's hot but my core runs cold.

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,106
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Country:
    Italy
    f...cking

    sorry had to do this
    if you did a forum search you could have found what you wanted anyway
     
    4 people like this.
  7. Hyro-Sama

    Member Hyro-Sama I'm from the fucking future.

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,255
    Location:
    After Earth
    Country:
    Japan
    This should be in the EOF.
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    I sure hope you're trolling.
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. xwatchmanx

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    The mods should add, like, a HUGE banner that says NO 3DS FLASH CART EXISTS in like size 72 font, that shows up whenever you register on the Temp. and you have to click "I understand and agree not to ask for a 3DS flashcart" 3 separate times, on different areas on the screen, to ensure that you've seen and read and understood. *facepalm*
     
  10. CollosalPokemon

    Member CollosalPokemon ばん。。。かい

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    681
    Country:
    United States
    That wouldn't be enough. It needs to flash until the user has a seizure. And even then, people would STILL miss it. Also, Fix'd in bold.
     
  11. xwatchmanx

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Hey now, let's not go TOO far... some people like me had rolandic epilepsy as kids. :ha:
     
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    You won't get N64 emulation on any DS model with any flashcart.
    GBA works on the DSTwo with it's own special emulator, but it's not perfect. http://gbatemp.net/topic/232281-supercard-dstwo-review/
    There is no way to run GBA stuff on the 3DS without an emulator because the 3DS lacks GBA hardware. Same with the DSi.
     
  13. andibad

    Member andibad Soon™

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    699
    Location:
    hospital
    Country:
    Indonesia
    anyway you understand "don't share illegal link" like asking download 3DS ROM one?

    and not try rydian loader ?
     
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The "loader" I posted was a joke.
     
  15. Ace Overclocked

    Member Ace Overclocked My CPU's hot but my core runs cold.

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,106
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Country:
    Italy
    he was trolling...
     
  16. Zelduck
    OP

    Newcomer Zelduck Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    ...I wasn't really asking for a 3DS flashkart...And I'm sorry,I wasn't wearing my glasses when I posted this,and my vision is 12/15,so I didn't see some things.

    Just go easy on me,I'm new ._.
     
  17. xwatchmanx

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    alright understandable. We jut get pissed sometimes cuz so many people with 20/20 vision ignore reading the sticky on 3DS ROMs on a regular basis. Sorry about that
     
  18. Ace Overclocked

    Member Ace Overclocked My CPU's hot but my core runs cold.

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,106
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Country:
    Italy
    just as i said in a few threads, i know it's fucking annoying that newbies keep asking these questions but we shouldn't attack any newbie just for hinting at it, i mean it's not his/her mistake
     
  19. Schizoanalysis

    Member Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,782
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    Australia
    Most. Informative. Thread. Ever.
     
  20. Lucifer666

    Member Lucifer666 all the world needs is me

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    The Fourth Dimension
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Now now, let's be a little bit more gentle to the newbie.

    Your original question was "What exactly does DSTWO do?"

    Well, it's simple. The Supercard DSTWO is the best DS flashcart out there.
    Basically it plays DS ROMS which include dumped games and homebrew.
    Homebrew gives any flashcard greater capabilities. Since the DSTWO has its own built-in RAM (if I'm not mistaken), there is homebrew specifically designed for the DSTWO which would not run properly on other flashcarts due to insufficient RAM.
    This homebrew may include emulators (GBA, GBC, etc.); however, no matter what you try to do, the Supercard DSTWO will never be able to run an N64 emulator because the Supercard runs in DS mode.
    What is DS mode? DS mode is a mode the 3DS boots into which reduces its functionality down to one of a DS. Basically, any improvements from the DS up until the 3DS are not present in DS mode. A 3DS in DS-mode is basically just a different-looking DS.
    The DS isn't powerful enough to emulate N64, so the Supercard DSTWO on the 3DS (which would still be DS-mode) cannot emulate N64 games.

    I hope this helps.

    PS. I really hope not to see another thread like this. This place has put together many stickies designed for newcomers like yourself. I *highly* suggest you go check 'em out. They will help you get a better understanding of the whole thing.

    Edit: Thought I'd be nice enough to provide you with a link to all the stickies. Here you go.
     
    1 person likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page