WEP / WPA

Discussion in '3DS - Nintendo Network' started by Tutenstein, Dec 25, 2011.

Dec 25, 2011

WEP / WPA by Tutenstein at 1:05 AM (1,605 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. Tutenstein
    OP

    Newcomer Tutenstein Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Australia
    Just wondering in the options of using WPA rather then Wep if going by the better security does it mean I will not be able to play wifi games or even update Wood using Wifi nless I chnage back to WEP ?

    Thanks
     
  2. Giga_Gaia

    Member Giga_Gaia Shinigami

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,281
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    The 3DS can do both WPA and WEP. However, if you have a DS flashcart, then you can only use WEP since the DS only used WEP and of course, the flashcart run in DS mode.

    You'd need to change your router back and forth, unless you actually have a router that can do both at the same time (I dunno if it even exist)
     
  3. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    3DS games support WPA/2. DS games only support WEP, no matter what system you put them in.
     
  4. Saken

    Member Saken GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    347
    Country:
    Australia
    You won't be able to use Wifi on NDS games if you use WPA. It will still work with some DS games (with some they work, the ones that are enhanced for DSi play) and probably wont let you update Wood from the menu.
    WPA is the better security option as my newborn baby could probably break into the WEP encryption.
     
  5. Tutenstein
    OP

    Newcomer Tutenstein Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks all, I thought that was the case and yeah WEP does suck a bit. Was hoping not to use it. But I might have to use it as the kids will cry LOL...... Will check if there is a router that does both you never know. Thanks again.
     
  6. ThatDudeWithTheFood

    Member ThatDudeWithTheFood TRIANGLEZ

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,198
    Location:
    Illuminati
    Country:
    United States
    Wait a second on my DS I could play Starfox DS just fine with WPA and not WEP.

    WHAT WAS GOING ON>!??!??!?!?!
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Some routers can do both at once.
     
  8. spark1223

    Member spark1223 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    United States
    Mine can support both.
     
  9. DJPlace

    Member DJPlace P!ssed OFF Pyscho of GBA!!

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,486
    Country:
    United States
    damn it my dad's it only WPA... i just wish i can talk to him to fix it to wep but... i'm only there once or twice a month...
     
  10. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Fix it to WEP?

    lol
     
  11. DJPlace

    Member DJPlace P!ssed OFF Pyscho of GBA!!

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,486
    Country:
    United States
    i tried that once but it fucked up his other computer and he did not know about it.. he's not computer smart...
     
  12. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Uh you're better off with WPA.

    Your dad is right.
     
  13. DJPlace

    Member DJPlace P!ssed OFF Pyscho of GBA!!

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,486
    Country:
    United States
    yeah has long has the 3ds has wi-fi that's all i care about... the wii has wpa acess too... so yeah... i'll deal with it.
     
  14. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    nintendo really does a piss poor job with ds on 3ds compability
    the 3ds has more then enough power to make a wpa net appear unencrypted to the ds layer
     

Share This Page