Hacking Weird freeze - buzz noise with Nintendont

rorro

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 8, 2014
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
95
Country
Mexico
I was playing Rogue Squadron II with my external hard drive, and after 30 minutes, sudenly i heard a buzz noise that lasted less than a second, with a tiny freeze... at first i didnt mind, but after some minutes the buzz returned, and it was more frequent, like 3 times a minute...

I disconnected the hard drive and i played the game via SD card... i played for 20 minutes without the issue.... so im not really sure if this was an issue with my external hard drive or with the copy of the game, or the nintendont build, etc...

My external drive is brand new, less than a week. 1TB, toshiba.

Any ideas?
 

Adeka

Beta Tester
Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2013
Messages
4,168
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
1,623
Country
United States
You have a sleepy hard drive. Nintendont is reading a random sector of the drive to prevent it from going to sleep. That's why your experiencing a small freeze.
 

rorro

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 8, 2014
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
95
Country
Mexico
Those buzzes are normal with that game, they may be fixed with a new version of nintendont. Try to change force progressive and widescreen off to make them less frequent (if they are on).


Thanks, so you too experience the same? This does make sense because i did play a couple of games before RS2 and that didnt happen... i'll disable force progressive and widescreen to see if that solves (or at least reduces) the issue. Thanks!
 

majormoes

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Feb 9, 2015
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Nijmegen, Netherlands
XP
41
Country
Netherlands
Thanks, so you too experience the same? This does make sense because i did play a couple of games before RS2 and that didnt happen... i'll disable force progressive and widescreen to see if that solves (or at least reduces) the issue. Thanks!


yeah I had the same problem with that game, when I had force settings on the game just simply frozes after 10 minutes, but with those settings off it didn't anymore. The sleeping hdd may be problem but probably not in this case, because most other games work fine. You can only hope for a fix for just this game in a future release.
 

frostyarcade

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 3, 2016
Messages
5
Trophies
0
XP
43
Country
United States
Sorry to dredge this thread back up, but I'm having the same exact issue. It's only when going into the level select menu and I also get it on the medal presentation results screen. Gameplay is fine. I have the Nintendont settings to default, but i enable the in-game progressive mode on game start.

Would this simply be just a USB reading issue (I'm using a USB flash drive)or is re-ripping the ISO necessary?

Minor issue but thanks for any input!
 

frostyarcade

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 3, 2016
Messages
5
Trophies
0
XP
43
Country
United States
I tried it again last night and it didn't buzz on the level select menu anymore, but did buzz for a split second on the medal screen after the end of a level.

Anyone have a general idea what could be going on?
 

AmandaRose

Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2015
Messages
9,771
Trophies
1
Location
Glasgow
Website
www.rockstarnorth.com
XP
14,603
Country
United Kingdom
I tried it again last night and it didn't buzz on the level select menu anymore, but did buzz for a split second on the medal screen after the end of a level.

Anyone have a general idea what could be going on?
Did you read any of the previous posts on here as your question has already been answered before you even asked it. The beeps are normal for the game using nintendont. Not all games play perfectly with nintendont and rogue squadron 2 is one of those games.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I have been late before but never from my own actions lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I just need to win the lottery so I can sleep for like 2-3 months then spend it all lol
    +1
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    i just want the lottery money for a new PC and a laptop
    +1
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    Lenovo has some sturdy laptops
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    can't wait for tomorrow to purchase the laptop I mentioned @sombrerosonic
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    the HHD is prob gonna be slow af
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    but can be circumvented with a cheap ass SSD
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    hmmm :unsure: Could I exchange the one in my laptop to the one I'm buying? @sombrerosonic
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Yes but not as easily as just swaping. You have to install fresh copy of Windows on it, and you may be able to save some stuff from old windows on it, you will have to reinstall most
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    I have a copy in my clouds
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Personally I would clone the new lappy drive to old ssd lappy drive, using a Tower pc, so existing windows carries over
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    if your not worried about stuff on the old drive anyways
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    no, I'm not
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    copied stuff to this comp I'm on now already
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    If you have a windows copy, then yea if they both sata, or whatever, swap new lappy hd to ssd, and reinstall new windows
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Then save that new lappy hd to use as a external drive, you can get a enclosure for them for $10-15.
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    i mean all i do when getting a new play with laptop is swaping the HHD with the SSD and installing Windows 10/7/XP
    +1
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    an HHD is good for extra space while a SSD is faster
    +1
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    so its really a trade off
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    I have Win 10 pro on this
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    yep, just was making sure he didnt want to save old programs/settings/files off the old sdd before he wiped.
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    All that is for when it arrives after purchase. Which is tomorrow
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    Just getting info ahead of time
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    Thanks guys
    +1
    AncientBoi @ AncientBoi: Thanks guys +1