WBFS For Mac doesn't see HDD

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Kiriashi, Jan 22, 2011.

Jan 22, 2011

WBFS For Mac doesn't see HDD by Kiriashi at 6:37 PM (17,314 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. Kiriashi
    OP

    Member Kiriashi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    United States
    So I formatted my drive with Configurable USB loader, and then backed up my games onto it, which worked fine.

    However, when I went to my computer to add an iso, it doesn't see the HD. I know it is formatted to WFBS because I did so in the USB Loader.

    What am I doing wrong?

    Thanks in advance,

    Kiriashi~
     
  2. someonewhodied

    Member someonewhodied Lazy Person

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    869
    Country:
    United States
  3. Kiriashi
    OP

    Member Kiriashi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    United States
    That's real helpful...
     
  4. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,912
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    You no longer need to format drives as WFBS. FAT32 is the recommended format. You can then use Wii Backup Manager to manage your games.
     
  5. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,546
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
  6. Kiriashi
    OP

    Member Kiriashi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    United States
    I am on a



    MAC



    guys, I don't have access to windows. And I already formatted my HD to WBFS and spent hours backing my games up on it; I'd really like to find a way to get this to work rather than use a different file system.


    Besides WBFS files are much smaller are they not?
     
  7. someonewhodied

    Member someonewhodied Lazy Person

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    869
    Country:
    United States
    Install windows as a separate OS (Partition your computer's hdd)
     
  8. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,912
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    In that case, have you tried the WBFS manager for Mac? I use Windows 7, so I do not have any experience with this.
     
  9. Kiriashi
    OP

    Member Kiriashi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    United States
    Like I said, I don't have access to Windows. Simple as that. But I don't see how it would help anyways; I already have my HD formatted. I just want the Manager to recognize it.


    EDIT:


    Yes, that is the only one avaible for macs as far as I can tell.
     
  10. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
  11. Kiriashi
    OP

    Member Kiriashi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    United States
    Oh cool, I can try this out. Thanks!
     
  12. Kiriashi
    OP

    Member Kiriashi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    United States
    Well, no luck. It didn't see my harddrive.

    However the situation is resolved, because I managed to convert the iso into WBFS format, and from there I was able to just drag it into my harddrive.

    I copied the format and style of the folders, and walla. :3
     
  13. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,546
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    You have copied all games to another partition? Or are you using two partitions now?
     
  14. patte

    Newcomer patte Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Germany
    I know you've solved your problem,
    but for all others. Keep the partitions
    on your external HD to a minimum.

    I've hat two partitions working fine,
    but with three partitions and WBFS for
    Mac it's only a matter of time until
    your WBFS partition won't be recognized
    anymore.

    By the way… what converter did you use
    for converting iso's into wbfs?

    A link to the app or command line utility
    would be fine.
     
  15. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    Sound like you did use FAT instead of WBFS in the first place.
    If it was WBFS the os would not recognize it, making it impossible to see files or folders.
    No wonder the Managers cant find a WBFS partition.
     

Share This Page