Hacking Way to remove sd card without turning off switch?

spuderump

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2008
Messages
109
Trophies
0
XP
972
Country
United States
hi all,

Just wanted to see if anyone knows a way to remove the sd card without my switch then telling me I need to power off my switch and reboot. I only ask because I get annoyed having to reboot into rcm everytime I wanna add something to my sd card.
 
  • Like
Reactions: HellGhast

BlastedGuy9905

where's the updated autopsy report
Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2017
Messages
2,334
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
under your desk
XP
3,738
Country
United States
hi all,

Just wanted to see if anyone knows a way to remove the sd card without my switch then telling me I need to power off my switch and reboot. I only ask because I get annoyed having to reboot into rcm everytime I wanna add something to my sd card.
You can just power off to remove your sd..
 

BlastedGuy9905

where's the updated autopsy report
Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2017
Messages
2,334
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
under your desk
XP
3,738
Country
United States
That’s the thing, I don’t want to power off as I hate RCMing all the time.
Oh. So you want to edit the contents of your SD while you're in CFW? Get FTPD and Switchident. You can find your IP in Switchident and FTPD opens an FTP server on your Switch. You can connect to it with a client like Filezilla, just type your ip and the port 5000.
 

Barrowsx

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
22
Trophies
0
Location
Parent's basement
XP
423
Country
Eritrea
Oh. So you want to edit the contents of your SD while you're in CFW? Get FTPD and Switchident. You can find your IP in Switchident and FTPD opens an FTP server on your Switch. You can connect to it with a client like Filezilla, just type your ip and the port 5000.

Wouldn't recommend FileZilla since they were recently caught bundling malware with their installers; you should use a different client.
 

BlastedGuy9905

where's the updated autopsy report
Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2017
Messages
2,334
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
under your desk
XP
3,738
Country
United States
No, it doesn't mess up your battery. If you accidentally leave it in RCM, your battery will drain. If you're in RCM too long, you might get an easily correctable battery percentage de-sync.
Remember the Trinket M0 internal install? I wonder if AutoRCM would make it possible to "coldboot".
 

quazimojo

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 16, 2015
Messages
35
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
443
Country
United States
What if you left your switch in standby and the battery died ? Would that cause the same issue as rcm where you might have an issue charging it ?

On some occasions I don't touch my switch for a few days and it's in standby
 

magico29

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2017
Messages
1,581
Trophies
0
XP
1,777
Country
United States
What if you left your switch in standby and the battery died ? Would that cause the same issue as rcm where you might have an issue charging it ?

On some occasions I don't touch my switch for a few days and it's in standby
leave your switch on sleep mode,has been say it many many times in here and xecuter team also say it!!
 

Brayton

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
235
Trophies
0
XP
471
Country
United States
Oh. So you want to edit the contents of your SD while you're in CFW? Get FTPD and Switchident. You can find your IP in Switchident and FTPD opens an FTP server on your Switch. You can connect to it with a client like Filezilla, just type your ip and the port 5000.
You have to connect to WiFi in CFW to do that.
 

Dvdxploitr

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
704
Trophies
0
XP
1,213
Country
United States
People on here have suggested AutoRCM, if you're worried about your battery, you might want to get the SX Pro or get a high quality jig to make RCM easier....some poor quality jigs can cause problems. Sad that TX doesn't sell their jigs separately because i've heard they are very good
 

DocAmes1980

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2016
Messages
873
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
955
Country
United States
Wouldn't recommend FileZilla since they were recently caught bundling malware with their installers; you should use a different client.

Use Ninite to get the installer.

https://ninite.com/

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

No, it doesn't mess up your battery. If you accidentally leave it in RCM, your battery will drain. If you're in RCM too long, you might get an easily correctable battery percentage de-sync.

Turning the Switch off from the OS causes RCM to start automatically with the SX version of AutoRCM. For me and many others at least. These repeated discharges may ruin the battery. At the very least it doesn't help extend the useful life of it.
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
17,252
Trophies
2
XP
16,468
Country
United States
Use Ninite to get the installer.

https://ninite.com/

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


Turning the Switch off from the OS causes RCM to start automatically with the SX version of AutoRCM. For me and many others at least. These repeated discharges may ruin the battery. At the very least it doesn't help extend the useful life of it.
Turning the Switch off from Horizon should not reboot it into RCM. In the unlikely event that this is the case with SX OS, then don't use that to install AutoRCM.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Lumince
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: https://piunikaweb.com/2022/01/15/nvidia-shield-tv-plex-and-other-apps-not-working-after-android-...