OP
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Brazil
Hello there.

I'm trying to buy my first nintendo handheld, the NDS, and I'm only considering it because of that device known as R4. That said, I'm basically a real noob in the world of nintendo hardware, so, don't feel like killing me if I say something that doesn't make sense.

This topic was created because I need detailed info before trying to buy it. What I want to know is:

- Is it LEGAL? [it stores roms... Roms themselves aren't legal unless you have the original game]
- What is the average cost? [in the USA]
- Are there other options instead of R4 andthe original game? The name is Flash Card, right?
- Which is their situation? [first two questions]
- Anything bad about them you'd like to share? Like a defect, a problem during use...

Grimalkin

Waaaaaaaah!
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Canada
1. Don't buy an R4, look for better options, you can do a whole lot more with the newer flashcarts which are reasonably the same price.

- Is it Legal? No. Unless you use JUST homebrew. Whether or not you own the original game does not make it legal to own roms. Period. (Read my Piracy thread if you have the time and patience: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?act=findpost&pid=902201)
- Get one around $50 ish?
- Yes.
- What do you mean?
- For the R4, it's the lack of features and product updates.

Toni Plutonij

*has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!
Former Staff
Trophies
XP
Country
Croatia
Yanazake said:
Hello there.

I'm trying to buy my first nintendo handheld, the NDS, and I'm only considering it because of that device known as R4. That said, I'm basically a real noob in the world of nintendo hardware, so, don't feel like killing me if I say something that doesn't make sense.

This topic was created because I need detailed info before trying to buy it. What I want to know is:

- Is it LEGAL? [it stores roms... Roms themselves aren't legal unless you have the original game]