Wani's 4.1 Firmware updater

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Rosetta06, Aug 3, 2009.

Aug 3, 2009

Wani's 4.1 Firmware updater by Rosetta06 at 11:09 PM (1,522 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. Rosetta06
    OP

    Member Rosetta06 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    United States
    Is it good to go? Whats the advantage and/or disadvantage to doing it?
     
  2. computerboy

    Member computerboy GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    802
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Only updates the needed stuff and keeps trucha bug in other IOSs. And yes you can do it
     
  3. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    Also if you're not updating from 4.0 to 4.1 you may need to install IOS60 before running the 4.1 updater otherwise it will give you an error. You can use dop-IOS to install the most recent IOS60 with the sig hash check and then you should be fine running the updater.

    The only thing that 4.1 adds over 4.0 is a bug fix involving Wii Sports Resort. When you first load the game, you see that stupid motionplus video that is mandatory to watch and requires some alternate dol crap if you're not using the disc channel to load it.

    The bug is that if you play any vc game or anything from the sd card menu, even if you already saw the video before, you're going to have to watch it again when you boot it up again.

    And that's pretty much the ONLY thing 4.1 does over 4.0.
     
  4. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    if you run wanin's updater, it would be wise to make a nand backup first.
     
  5. Rosetta06
    OP

    Member Rosetta06 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    United States
    I have 4.0, so no need for IOS60 then? Would rather have this so I don't accidentally update via a wii disc and cause issues. Plus I don't wanna watch that damn video even again.
     
  6. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    If you're on 4.0, just installing the 4.1 system menu wad will do
    you can create that wad with nusd
     
  7. Rosetta06
    OP

    Member Rosetta06 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    United States
    I have wani's dol version of the Firmware update, I can just use that. Think I will backup the NAND just to be safe, been awhile since I have.
     
  8. vegeta4ss

    Member vegeta4ss GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    well that sucks. I was hoping 4.1 would keep me from having to do that alternate dol crap.

    It's not too complicated for me to do but it makes it much harder for others in the house to load it. It was hard enough training everybody on alternate loaders and which ones to use for gc titles and wii titles, lol. Here's to hoping an alternate workaround or patch can be applied to the disc or something. [​IMG]
     
  9. Rosetta06
    OP

    Member Rosetta06 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    United States
    NO I Think what he said was thats what 4.1 fixes. [​IMG]
     
  10. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    It fixes having to to it after EVERY time you load a game from the sd card menu, but you still have to do it the FIRST time you play the game. Not anymore after that.
     
  11. Rosetta06
    OP

    Member Rosetta06 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah thats what I meant, first time who cares, but after that its annoying.
     
  12. Swizler

    Member Swizler GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    San Antonio,Texas
    Country:
    United States
    if you don't wanna run back up is updating the wii the normal way advisible
     
  13. Rosetta06
    OP

    Member Rosetta06 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    United States
    I wouldn't. But check on the wii homebrew wiki to see what it breaks.
    Anyway, did the Nand backup, ran the update, all is well and perfect.
    Thanks once again fellas.
     

Share This Page