Viruses on any homebrew web browser?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Eski, May 14, 2008.

May 14, 2008
  1. Eski
    OP

    Member Eski GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I am a bit worried about my recent surfing on my DS. When I was using HobroDS I noticed a pop-up on my PC so, I was wondering if viruses could leak through too.

    This question also applies to DS Organize.

    Thanks in advance.
     


  2. genuisgeek

    Member genuisgeek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Country:
    United States
    i think its impossible or highly unlikely cuz viruses are mostly meant for PC hardware not DS unless its made for DS virus but seriously thats like unlikely

    i think the same goes for a mac b/c i heard they dont get viruses cuz they dont have PC hardware they have a different software.

    for pop-ups the web browser in DSOrganize just gives me a red screen that say guru meditation error cuz its so horrible
    but on DSHobro it loads prety well but remember that the DS browsers cant hadle popups lol
     
  3. Eski
    OP

    Member Eski GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    United States
    Well that was the only pop-up I had...

    Basically pop-up could appear but not viruses?
     
  4. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    It is possible, if your PC isn't protected well enough.
     
  5. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    Uhh no, its not possible.

    The DS uses a wireless connection to connect to the internet which has nothing to do with the PC. Theres no way the PC can infect a DS and vice versus. Also theres no way to get a virus on the DS, even with a homebrew browser. All it does and retrieves the HTML and parses it over a HTTP connection, that is all. It doesn't even run javascript or activeX.
     
  6. Eski
    OP

    Member Eski GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    United States
    So I have nothing to worry about?
     
  7. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    DSHobro is a PC based app which gets the page, and sends it to the DS. Try going to a youtube video with it, the sound will play on your PC.
     
  8. wilddenim

    Member wilddenim Candy!

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How did you got your DSBrowser up and running anyway? I can't get it working. [​IMG]
     
  9. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    To elaborate on what fischju said, it uses the IE engine to render the page, then the server app converts and compresses the output into jpegs which are streamed to the DS.

    So yes, your PC could become infected in the same way its possible to pick up an infection through normal internet browsing.
     
  10. Eski
    OP

    Member Eski GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah I think ficshju is right, I could see the history of the sites I surfed on DS Hobro.
     
  11. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    Ah gotcha, just as I thought. It probably embeds the IE rendering engine and uses it to process the page. So security will be based on what version of Internet Explorer is currently on the system if it doesn't embed the rendering engine directly into the transcoder server.
     
  12. Eski
    OP

    Member Eski GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    United States
    So I'm safe when I'm using organize, but not safe when I use HorbroDS?
     
  13. Xeronage

    Member Xeronage GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    612
    Country:
    Your DS is safe either way. Your PC is just as safe as normal surfing.
     
  14. Eski
    OP

    Member Eski GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    United States
    Which means my DS is safe in either way, but my PC is not if I happen to stumble on a virus filled site?
     
  15. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    Only if your using HasbroDS, Your safe with DS only browsers like DS Organize.
     
  16. Eski
    OP

    Member Eski GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, thanks.

    I'll have to go to trusted sites on Hobro...
     
  17. Zankurou

    Member Zankurou GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    Central Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Before we continue can we agree on the fact that it is HobroDS and not HasbroDS.
     
  18. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry, it was a typo ;p
     
  19. Eski
    OP

    Member Eski GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    United States
    O____o

    I accidently mispelled the URL of a site, and my PC started popping up multiple pop-ups with error 404 or something like that... I couldn't control it, so I turned of my PC in panic.

    Nothing seems to be abnormal, so, is it supposed to be like that?
     
  20. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    Using DS Organize? You most likely have a virus or spyware on your computer. Theres no way that DS Organise browsing can affect a PC unless that PC is monitoring the network traffic for some reason which it shouldn't be.
     

Share This Page