Hacking Using Ipod as HDD for backups

infamousdice

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
May 3, 2009
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Dade County 305
Website
.com
XP
46
Country
United States
Could nd 80G ipod classic be used to load up the rom in the wii since it does have a hard drive in it i dont think it would be an issue cause it does have a hdd in it so do u think if an ipod would work as a back up
 

ddp127

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
449
Trophies
0
Age
27
Website
Visit site
XP
92
Country
Netherlands
ipods work with usb loader, you can look in the wiki for compatibility with usb loader
but can you please use dots, comma's, and other stuff?
 

bmc1up

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 24, 2007
Messages
8
Trophies
0
XP
84
Country
Unfortunately, no. Well not for most games.

I have been trying to do exactly the same thing, but iPod classic uses FAT, not NTFS, so it can only take files up to 4gb in size. And all wii games are over 4gb, exept for scrubbed iso's.
unsure.gif
 

wiiman123

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2009
Messages
938
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
114
Country
New Zealand
If you have an old ipod you don't use. You can take out the 1.8' harddrive and place it inside a 1.8" IDE or LIF/ZIF harddrive enclosure.
 

olliepop2000

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
457
Trophies
0
Age
42
Location
North West UK
XP
97
Country
bmc1up said:
Unfortunately, no. Well not for most games.

I have been trying to do exactly the same thing, but iPod classic uses FAT, not NTFS, so it can only take files up to 4gb in size. And all wii games are over 4gb, exept for scrubbed iso's.
unsure.gif
You have to reformat the ipod as wbfs anyway!
 

Trolly

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2007
Messages
1,716
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Behind you! I know you looked!
Website
Visit site
XP
207
Country
QUOTE said:
I have been trying to do exactly the same thing, but iPod classic uses FAT, not NTFS, so it can only take files up to 4gb in size. And all wii games are over 4gb, exept for scrubbed iso's.

But you have to format it to WBFS to use the USB Loader anyway, so I can't see a problem.

And look at this topic, it appears they got it to work:
http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=145403&st=0
 

Nintendo_Chick

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2009
Messages
394
Trophies
0
Age
110
Website
Visit site
XP
218
Country
United States
I felt like testing it, and its easy.

All I did was boot in disk mode and format a partition with wbfs manager 3.0 and it worked fine.

30 gb 5g btw
 

Puma

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2008
Messages
316
Trophies
0
XP
92
Country
United States
I can get it to work, but I still haven't figured out how to partition it so I can use it as an iPod and an HDD for usb loading.
frown.gif


Any help? A tutorial would be amazing
 

Tgrokz

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 29, 2009
Messages
40
Trophies
0
XP
43
Country
United States
i use a 30gig 5G ipod HDD in an enclosure and it works perfectly. i does seem to either spin down or overheat, but thats very rare and only happens after its been running the whole day.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    AncientBoi @ AncientBoi: now that's a better "Explination" ty