USB Loader - HDD Compatibility

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by deadrabbit, Mar 31, 2009.

Mar 31, 2009
  1. deadrabbit
    OP

    Newcomer deadrabbit Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Could people take a second to note what HDD's they are using and whether or not they are successful? Size and make would be nice too!

    Im not having any joy with my Sumvision enclosure (120gb IDE HDD installed) - although it is powered by dual USB which I think is the problem, has anyone else got a similar one working, or are the working ones pen drives and mains powered?

    I did get my pen drive working fine - 16gb Easydisk (ebuyer)

    UPDATE:

    Update the compatibity wiki if possible - http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/index.php/USB...patibility_List

    Most people are having joy with external western digital drives.

    The highest reported working partition is currently 512gb.

    Dual usb powered drives have some success with only one of the usbs connected.
     


  2. purechaos996

    Member purechaos996 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    765
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah Im going to buy another external I have a 500GB but thats for my PC and it has important stuff on it but can anyone tell me if this driveHDD will work? thanks
     
  3. deadrabbit
    OP

    Newcomer deadrabbit Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    People appear to be having joy with 500GB Western Digital external drives...
     
  4. jpref

    Newcomer jpref Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    Canada
    it appears that all WD drives have been working... anyone want to confirm ?
     
  5. Tgrokz

    Newcomer Tgrokz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    hm, i hope that USB powered external HDDs work, seeing as i have no more empty outlets in my room.
     
  6. Rfire

    Member Rfire GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    United States
    SanDisk Cruzer Micro 2.0GB Pen drive -- USB Loader freezes when trying to format

    Kingston Data Traveler 2.0GB -- Formats OK, games install OK, games boot OK
     
  7. dinofan01

    Member dinofan01 Misses the old days...

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,842
    Country:
    United States
    Theres a wiki for this. Post yours additions there. I'll try to find it.

    Edit:
    Found it. Its the USB compatibility list.
     
  8. desh_thiere

    Member desh_thiere GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    Australia
    Has anyone had any luck getting it to work with a 2.5 inch USB powered drive? The one I am particularly interested in buying is one of the Seagate Freeagent Go 320 gigs. Anyone know if 2.5 inch USB powered pocket drives will function or do I need an external power supply drive.

    Thanks!
     
  9. anonymous_cactus

    Newcomer anonymous_cactus Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
  10. kongsnutz

    Member kongsnutz QuickTimeEvent

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,446
    Country:
    Australia
    Seagate 80gb Hdd using a cheap ass casing powered by mains........working great [​IMG]
     
  11. bolex17

    Member bolex17 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    Australia
    Sony 2GB USB Flash Drive - Unable to initialize error.
     
  12. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    I have a drive like that and it works just fine. It isn't the same drive as you mention, but it doesn't run off of any external power.
     
  13. desh_thiere

    Member desh_thiere GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    Australia
    Cool, I am going to pick up a 320 gig USB drive today and see how it goes, fingers crossed it works as being able to change games without getting up from the couch is like every nerd's dream [​IMG]
     
  14. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    what about 640 gb?
     
  15. anonymous_cactus

    Newcomer anonymous_cactus Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    If it works out for you, would you mind posting here and/or PMing the exact model you bought? I'd like to have a drive that I *KNOW* will work, and can do so without an extra power cord. Thanks in advance [​IMG]
     
  16. desh_thiere

    Member desh_thiere GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    Australia
    I will let you know as soon as I have a result, which will probably be in around 3-4 hours when my wife gets home with the drive in tow [​IMG] I am risking it not working because I still need a portable drive anyway so it will be no biggie for me if it does not work.
     
  17. kongsnutz

    Member kongsnutz QuickTimeEvent

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,446
    Country:
    Australia


    But don't you not have CIOS installed?? this will not work without it
     
  18. anonymous_cactus

    Newcomer anonymous_cactus Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    a new wii is being shipped to me with 3.1u installed, i bought it 2 hours ago... [​IMG]

    I'm sure i'll send you a PM, Kong, in the next 2-3 days just to make sure 100% I have the entire process down correctly from start to finish... since you are very knowledgeable... and i promise that will be the last time I bother you LOL -- the other difference is I will not be installing a hardware mod this time around.

    Not sure what I'm going to do with my old wiikey/4.0 wii w.o cios, yet. Before anything I want to make sure my new one is working 100% how I want.
     
  19. desh_thiere

    Member desh_thiere GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    Australia
    I have cIOS rev8 installed, will be whacking on rev9 as soon as I get home from work.
     
  20. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    western digital 640gb external hard drive: DOESN'T WORK

    it will format it but when you tell it to install a game it never works. i'm taking it back tomorrow.

    fw 4.0 with rev9
     

Share This Page